You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: G-dog goes virtual

Nifty getting to play with a VR environment even if only in 2D. I have altspaceVR on my list to look at along with another one someday. I also don't have a VR headset, unless you count the one I put my phone into, but having a 2D option is pretty cool.

Sort:  

The 2D is not as immersive of course, but it seems to work well and in my small amount of experience will be good to have a chat with people. People have their own space and others can drop by so it could be a good place for people to gather around and talk shit, even after HiveFest. It's all very odd of course, but just a bit of fun.

Cool. I will definitely have to look into it.

I went in today as I finally had my broadband connected at my new house (was tethered to 4G off my phone). I wanted to check out if it was better with the faster connection. I went to this place called Commons: Fireplace, a snow environment where people go to hang out and meet. I chatted to a couple of people from America for a few minutes which was good because it gave me a chance to test the mic a little more. They both had the Occulus or some such thing but I seemed to get by with 2D. The voice thing is different as everyone can talk at once as opposed to UHF radio which I'm most used to...But it seemed ok. It's pretty strange for me to be talking to strangers like that, but it should be better at HiveFest.

I would love to have an Occulus, or something like it but can't justify the cost at the moment. Someday though ...

Yeah,, I would have paid $150, but $450+ here, in AUD. Not likely I'll purchase one for some time, if ever.