Hive Creative Contest - Camping in the woods... We tried!

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

image.png

Camping in the woods... We tried!

I must confess that camping terrifies me, sleeping in the middle of the forest in a tent surrounded by animals seems dangerous to me, not to mention the discomfort of sleeping in a sleeping bag inside a tent while listening to the noise of insects and being bitten by them.

[Source of the first Image]

In the movies everything seems fun, families sit around a campfire while they each marshmallows and tell horror stories that scare children in the middle of the family union, they also sing songs and play around, everything seems perfect. My little 8-year-old daughter loved those movies and always asked us to go camping for vacations, my husband and daughter insisted so much that I accepted the idea.

image.png

[Source]

My husband arranged to go camping in a forest near the city, he bought all kinds of camping equipment: a tent for three people, sleeping bags, flashlights and everything he thought we were going to need. I only had to buy the food that we were going to take and prepare the luggage.

We left very early in the morning, we were very excited and happy to start an adventure, my daughter had a big smile on her face and seeing her so happy excited me and at times made me forget my worries about this camping adventure.

When we reached the forest, we took everything down and my husband, who had never camped in his life, took the tent out of the truck and started to set it up. After a long four hours, a lot of effort and arguing, we managed to set it up and prepare everything. We put some things inside and I made some delicious sandwiches for lunch. We spent the afternoon swimming and playing in a nearby river, we were very relaxed and happy, my daughter ran everywhere playing with my husband hide and seek, while I lovingly looked at them.

image.png

[Source]

Late at night we fulfilled my daughter's wish and made a small fire while telling horror stories. The problem started when we went to sleep, we could only hear the insects and any strange noise managed scared us. It started to get very hot inside the tent and my daughter was very restless, we opened the door of the tent a little so that a little air could enter and so we fell asleep. After two hours my daughter woke up crying, an insect had bitten her, it hurt and her left cheek was very red and swollen.

We were very exhausted, I got up and told my husband to collect everything, that he wanted to go to a hotel right away. So we left and spent the night in a small hotel, we went home the next day very early in the morning.

I think that camping is not for everyone, I like to enjoy nature but with the comforts that hotels offer. Camping requires certain skills, preparation, and a free spirit.

image.png

[Source]

Camping should not be taken lightly, it is important to investigate the camping site, the dangers, what you need to bring, and the need for a guide if you do not know the area. It never hurts to take precautions when camping.


This is an entry for Hive Creative Contest | Camping In The Woods sponsored by @zord189

yay.png

Sort:  

You tried something new and that is very cool

true, greetings.

Congratulations @maeugenia! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 200 replies. Your next target is to reach 300 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Project Activity Update
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!