Building Origami Dragons To Repopulate After St. George's Day — Video Inside

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

Greetings, friends!

I'd like to invite you to a small...experiment on perception.

Dracon_002_s.jpg
My army as of yesterday.

First, this is a "first of" thing to me, the first video I took with my own voice sounding throughout it all. And guess what... I can't recognize the speaker's voice. Can you? Well, you haven't heard me, as I sound in my own head, so it should not be a problem for any of you. But I am pretty sure it was my voice. I remember filming that while being alone in the room. It even starts with the bang of the door being shut.

This is not the experiment.

What I am really curious about is...

Can you understand everything just by looking, despite the fact that I talk in Bulgarian only?

Does hearing my voice still help in any way?

Do you get any of the words? Except "Drakon(che)", that is...

So...I would ask you to watch the video below and leave me a comment here on this blog.



Bonus questions:


What is the role of dragons in your mythology? Or mythology you know?


Some additional musings on the topic.


In Proto-Bulgarian tradition, which was mixed with the mythology of Slavic people from South-East Europe, that before the Bulgarians came on horseback, was part of the Byzantine Empire (Eastern Roman Empire, the Orthodox one, after the Schism)...A dragon was called a Zmej/Zmey and the word remains in folklore, in the name of villages, other geographical units, etc.

There was a time when they were considered wise protectors of the people. There are theories, about which I will write some other time. Theories that claim that the transition from Paganism to Christianity was the time where this cultural perception was partially substituted with the concept that the Zmej/ Zmey or...Dragon...was a force of evil. I say partially because this is still not the case throughout indigenous folklore. Some other colleagues of the Zmej/Zmey, perhaps. The Lamya, the Hala...

Wells are magical portals that connect our world to theirs. The Slavic world structure is pretty close to the one From the Norse mythology — Asgard, Midgard, and the Realms Down Under (but not Australia). In Slavic mythology, we still had the Upper Earth, the Middle Earth (but not the one full of Hibbits), and a series of Earths each consecutive one even lower under the others.

There's a wonderful series of modern Bulgarian ethno-fantasy/sci-fi writer Nikolay Tellalov. More...someday.

Go fold some paper now! Repopulate with me!




Yours,

Manol Donchev


Signature by @zord189

Sort:  

I loved this post, @manoldonchev because it's a good one really and because I'm fond of experiments.

I watched your video and here you are:

  • I could understand what to do just by looking because the angle was great and so we're your hand movements
  • Listening to you helped me because the pitch and intonation, which made feel like "this is easy; just do as he says" (but we know I could only do it because I was looking, lol).
    *I think I heard something like "diagonal," "central," and something a bit similar to "press" every time you folded and pressed.

My dragon looks like it's come from battle, but it's my first origami ever, so I think it's pretty decent:

IMG_20200508_114031267.jpg

My cat liked it enough:

IMG_20200508_114223512.jpg

After that, she chewed it.


I've always studied Dragons as a symbol of human greed (the typical treasure hoarder). What we humans can do to get riches is definitely the size of a dragon's ferocity.
My favorite dragon so far: Smaug :D

It is pretty decent and I am quite happy that you tried!

Ah, dragon sickness. Poor Torin. Yeah, Tolkien's dragons are all evil. Ankalagon is just scary and is mentioned little enough but Glaurung is also mean.

You like Tolkien. Nice!

For me his books have been an acquired taste (along with Lovecraft's). I like Smaug because he's the embodiment of the typical dragon, but there are many others which are probably a lot more interesting (like the one in Beowulf, for instance, the proof that a king's virtue can be as great as his flaws).

I liked building the origami dragon. I sent a picture to my son who used to make lots of mini figures like this but much smaller (origami and dough) when he was a young adolescent. He said, it took covid19 quarantine to get me to develop the patience :D

Oh, I forgot to reply to so many things...

I wanted to tell you the feedback about the words confirmed some presumptions of mine. And added value by telling me which words sound familiar. You're quite right about the geometry terms.

And the thing that sounds like Press really means exactly that — press or push down. "Pritisnem" as in "(Let us) press, although the "Pri-" part is a prefix and the stem of the word is "Stisk"/ as in the thing you do with pincers. Or your thumb opposing some other finger.

Now... the part about my pitch and intonations is quite more interesting, actually, though not surprising really.

Thank you once more! I am glad you had fun! Cheers to you and your family!

You're very welcome. I did have fun. Thank YOU :)

Btw, I love how your cat just stares at the dragon!! 😆

Yes, she does that a lot XD Sometimes she stares at our Parrot and it gives me the chills, lol

IMG_20200509_082744493.jpg

I'm not precisely sure I knew what I envisioned you sounding like, either. You certainly sound different than what I do in my head, too 😃

Nice video. Even without understanding Bulgarian I can follow; you do a really good job of explaining visually. Well done!

!tip

Thanks, that's nice feedback. Also, the first piece of such which makes it...

Wait, does it mean that in our heads we all sound different but in reality, we use the same voice. Maybe it's a playback.

Congratulations @manoldonchev! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Revolution! Revolution!

🎁 Hi @manoldonchev! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @wwwiebe!

@wwwiebe wrote lately about: Organising Minifigs Feel free to follow @wwwiebe if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Liked your tutorial

This post has been appreciated and featured in daily quality content rewards. Keep up the good work

Thank you very much for your...wait for it...appreciation :)

I adore this for the patience. I've tried it once, and decided that it is definitely not for me :)

Ah, this can be done much faster if not trying to show it to others. And time is relative. Imagine you're waiting for your spouse to go out for dinner.

Imagine you're waiting for your spouse to go out for dinner.

I'd rather do origami after all lol

@manoldonchev My fiance just folded me an origami dragon recently which I really LOVE! <3

With regards to dragon mythology, I have to read up more about that haha xD

But I most recently encountered dragons in Game of Thrones. They're wild majestic creatures that cannot be tamed or put into captivity. I believe they symbolise the essence of raw power in that series.

While usually, they possess more knowledge and understanding than humans. Well, that varies, of course.