Concentration — The HIVE Portrait Photography Competition — Entry #1 for Week #3


Greetings, friends!

I've been so concentrated on juggling with tokens that I missed a week of photography contests it would seem. Time to catch the ball again and take part in this one.


Concentration_s.jpg


Taken during the Beglika Open Air Festival in the Rhodope Mountains, Bulgaria. All kinds of fun that would leave no human footprint on Nature. The annual festival used to gather thousands of participants. There were lots of attractions for passionate moment hunters.

There was something else, too. There always is. The guilt you might feel when you shoot strangers. I know I was shy. I know in a lot of circumstances I still am. That is a challenge to be dealt with. Again and again.

Does it get better with time? I don't know. It gets better with getting better. With trying. With building momentum and confidence. With developing communication skills. With shying away from shyness.

Wait, can you do that? Yes, you can. In theory. In practice, you need practice ;)

Cheers!




Aperture F 1.8; Shutter Speed 1/4000 sec.; ISO 100; Focal Length 85 mm.

Quite high speed. Small and fast-moving objects, as you can see, so that's adequate not only because of the high sun.

Yeah, glorious times, I had an 85 mm lens with as wide as F 1.8 aperture back then. I use a 70-200 mm at F 4 for such lengths now.


This is my first entry for this week of The HIVE Portrait Photography Competition.




Good luck and have fun!

Yours,

Manol


Sort:  

Great Job!

Thank you very much :)

This is beautiful, her upturned face, catching the light, mesmerized by the balls. The surreal way the balls seems suspended, as though they would never fall between her hands that way, it feels like a moment of the impossible. The effect is compounded by the pine trees and blue sky, both giving scale, and a feeling that she is juggling as high as the sky. When you are taking photos out in the wild like this, do you ask people before you take any pictures? Do you find most people do or don't want to see them?

Always an issue. You start to kind of know by their body language if they have anything against being taken photos of and then I don't do it. But if you contact people before the moment you want to capture, you risk spoiling the moment. Philosophically, being there observing already change the moment. But we try to control the damage we do to it and bring it to a minimum.

Nice! I love her hat!

Ah, yes, I forgot about the hat...Well, people...the hat!

Thanks, @wwwiebe :)

That was a nice photography
Looks classic

Thank you. I am not sure what makes it look classic, that's an interesting thought.

The appearance makes it look like one.

Very cool shot! And all the balls are crystal clear, without any blur at all. Nicely done! 😎

Thanks a lot! Not to be confused with crystal balls, though. Right? Funny thing but they mostly remain in shade and only the top one is sunlit.

Congratulations @manoldonchev! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4500 comments. Your next target is to reach 5000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz - Hive Gamification Experience

Wonderful capture in the art of juggling, keeping it all together!

Thank you. And thanks to the photo she can hold them in the air for many years ;)

Nice capture!

That's a very cute photo and I find it to be mesmerizing. Her hat give her a "court jester" appearance. You captured it at the best moment!

I do suppose that was intentional on her part... Thank you ;)

Hmmmmm. Great photograph, and an even better article.

Back in the dim and distant past I used to shoot (with film) pretty girls then ask for their name and address in case I sell or use the photo. Sometimes I didn't even use the shutter, just went straight for the phone number...

What a great shot of the juggler. Love the hat too.

Ah, everybody noticed the hat :) Good :) Thank you for stopping by!

Great picture of a great time. It was great. I understand what you say about shyness when it comes to photographing other people in the street, it always happens to me. Success in the contest. I leave you my support with reblog here. greetings from Venezuela. @manoldonchev

I must say, I also feel awkward to take photos of strangers!! It feels to me as if I invade their privacy!!

Love this, you captured the sheer concentration of someone who loves what they do! Great moment 😃 Thanks for sharing!

That is concentration with a bit of recreation. Two -ations.

This is amazingly taken. I could never juggle; think my motor skills are very coordinated.

I like your hat. 😁

Great picture. I used to juggle. I could juggle 3 balls well an 5 balls for about a minute!

That's already quite a feat. I can juggle three balls three times :P

Wow, a nano second captured. That takes my breath away. There isn't the slightest blur in those balls in the air. Amazing, @manoldonchev!

I feel your pain. I feel a little obnoxious sometimes, boldly snapping shots of strangers while unobserved.

I ask and most say yes, but, then, it is not the casual shot I was looking for. This is a great shot from the unobserved person.

Upped and Reposted

!tip

🎁 Hi @manoldonchev! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.