Flashback — Mount Teide

The peak I was close to but never climbed. I was making circles around the mountain for days, though. I would peek under the clouds, taking a glance sideways while driving on the next curve with a panoramic view towards the White Mountain. That name sounds as if from Tolkien, right?

Speaking of that...Mount Teide is a volcano, the same as Amon Amarth or Mount Doom in Mordor. It is 3718 m which makes it the highest peak in Spain, despite being...not on the continental part of the country but on Tenerife, one of the Canary Islands. I wrote quite a few articles about my trip there, including an extensive one about this peak and the close drive-by I had.

This photo, on the other hand, was taken from a mountain pass somewhere through Teno, another mountain nearby.

Well, the scale was very strange there on that island some would call small (and they did) but I consider...huge. It is all relative.

It was a huge chance for me to be there and see what sights I managed to see of that peak I did not climb. Leaving the car behind and hitting the trail up would have been a treat.

But, wait, it still was. And I got these memories now. Some of them I photographed.


Mount_Teide_Flashback_s.jpg

Camera Settings:

Aperture F 8; Shutter Speed 1/320 sec.; Light Sensitivity ISO 100; Focal Length 135 mm.


I just remembered there's that standard answer to the question "Why do you want to climb this?" but I am leaving it up to you to write it.




Yours,

Manol

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 25 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
5


Hey @manoldonchev, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.