Get Feedback On Your Photo — Week #1

Greetings, everyone!

I am starting this new series of posts where I will be giving you my feedback on photographs you took and shared in the comments below.

Don't be shy! No point in that. Receiving some criticism will make you better. This is a good chance for many people to learn and improve their skills in Photography which might not be your top priority but is a nice hobby to...I don't know, probably everybody who took up the camera.

Besides, even master photographers can always benefit from another opinion and take something new for themselves. If they're open enough. I've always been a critic with an imagination and I've gone giving advice left and right, even to people who are far better than me. Try me ;)


Reviewer_Bird_W1_s_BW.jpg
A shrike on a thorned branch — Dan Simmons fans might appreciate this ;) Or it might be a close relative. Of the Shrike, I mean.


Aperture F 4; Shutter Speed 1/1000 sec.; ISO 400; Focal Length 200 mm.


A few words on my photograph


Why Black&White?

Good tonal relationships, they allow it. Not that the color image was bad but in this one, the bird stands out even better. And that's important in this genre of Wildlife Photography. Which is usually colorful. Well...Nobody's perfect for everybody. This is how I like it.

Here's the color version:


Reviewer_Bird_W1_s.jpg


I know some of you will say "I like this one better." And there's nothing wrong with that.

But I would like to share a few words as I remember them. I heard them live during an exhibition of the classic master portraitist Arnold Newman.

The speaker was William A. Ewing, a curator, and a collector.

"As a collector, I wouldn't buy a color photograph. Imagine holding an original print for a few decades. Colors tend to fade away in time. That's why I go for Black and White only."


This series is not about imposing my mind. It's about sharing an opinion that comes from some knowledge, some experience, some personal preference. It's not about showing off. It's about the opportunity to learn new things. Come and learn! Let's learn together! Let's learn from one another :)


I will be commenting on your photographs, helping you to get better. Even better.


So, this is how my feedback proposal works — If you would like me to analyze a photograph of yours, put it in the comments below this post. One image per person per week. Commenting on the first 15. Probably more. On all others, if and when I can find the time.

I will also upvote comments that impress me in any way. Up to a degree, again.

Thank you for being here with me!


It's your turn!


Good luck and have fun!




Yours,

Manol Donchev


Signature by @zord189

Sort:  

quarantine, so i don't have anything new to share, and i am digging to find something, so we get this moving. i like this kind of initiatives.
Here is one candid taken with a phone.
IMG_20190923_134925a.jpg

i do have a b&w version of it
IMG_20190923_134925ab.jpg

Oh, very nice mood and I see it's difficult to decide which version to pick. The blue tones are amazing. On the other hand, the figure stands better in Black and White in my opinion. The pink dress is kind of strange but also interesting, bearing in mind this was a candid shot.

The only thing that bugs me a bit is the head of the model coinciding with the line of the land on the horizon...Fortunately, it's soft. The horizon, I mean ;) Alright, the pink also bugs me from time to time. But I guess that was the purpose.

now that you wrote it, i see the horizon line :D

thing i am not sure are this rocks in the foreground, i thought to make them darker but the quality of the file is well, cheap phone quality :D

moving a bit up, missing a bit of the rocks, but still having the leading line to her, and that would also move horizon line a bit above here head, would probably be a better photo.

now when i see all of that in the moment of taking a photo i will be a super pro photographer :D

And the observer can't even know if it was possible to move up. Are there more rocks to step on., etc. I can only assume. The foreground rocks are cool like that, I think you've done a very good edit despite the low file quality. Cheers!

It's an amazing idea!

We can always keep learning and try to do it better in this hobby.

Here, let me hear (read?) what you think.

i9e3sn.jpg

Have a great day and thanks.

Sure, my pleasure, it's a good start.

The obvious thing about the feet of the people beeing cut off the frame. Above the knee is the classic way to go if you are not including the whole figure. Or above the waist, etc. And we avoid cutting people through the joints — like elbows, knees, ankles...

The more advanced stuff — waiting for the right background to appear behind your subjects. Light on dark, dark on white, no objects going right behind people's heads. Like the car and the other person behind the lady's hair. I'd try avoiding that. Shifting my point of view or waiting for another moment or so.

When shooting someone not as tall as you, get to the level of their eyes. Shooting from above you project the ground behind them. Get parallel to their world. Show its depth behind. In this case, I would kneel or stoop to the level of the kid's eyes and keep my lens parallel to the ground. If it's a cat I am shooting, I will lie down at the cat's level or lower my camera if it has live view. I am often lying on my belly when shooting small animals on the ground or babies. Even flowers or insects. I would get low and enter their world and their point of "view". The more passionate we become about our results, the more we tend to forget laziness and that easy standing position. We begin rolling in the mud soon enough. For it's worth it.

Good luck and have fun!

Lots of advices.

Thanks for the huge feedback. I'll apply them for sure.

You are welcome :) Thank you for joining!

Shared on Tweeter:

#posh

Hello, great job, my friend!

I would love to see more detail on bear eyes.

I agree. Focus is more on the wings now and ideally, it would be on the eye.

Now this a fantastic idea. I'll be sure to hunt down a photo that I'd love to get some feedback - I know I have them! Great idea!

!tip

Cool, I'll be waiting for it.

🎁 Hi @manoldonchev! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @wwwiebe!

@wwwiebe wrote lately about: Roses Are Dead, By Pinhole Lens Feel free to follow @wwwiebe if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

GREAT POST!!!

Thank you for publishing it to our community feed!

We have cross posted it for you!

You can see which community it was posted to HERE

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Hello, great job @manoldonchev

Thank you. It has just begun ;)

Hey @manoldonchev, you need to check out @foxkoit stuff =)

Thanks, I will. From time to time. Also, I'm expecting people to post their suggestions here.

Thank you that you say it 👌😅😅 I just maid some cool snake photo 👌🐍👀