A Wheelbarrow For Little People

Wheelbarrows - riveting subject matter!

I've owned a slew of wheelbarrows, and they've all pissed me off in some way. Too big, too cumbersome, too heavy, too expensive, and the most frustrating of all, two wheels. A wheelbarrow with two wheels defeats the purpose of a wheelbarrow, which must be able to turn on a dime.

Is it so hard to find a small wheelbarrow with only one wheel, easy to maneuver in a small garden, light enough for a little old lady to hang on a hook, and not made of plastic?

Yes!!! Nearly impossible!

My quest has ended, I'm happy to report, with this ingenious wheelbarrow from Creative Outdoor. I can't recommend it for big jobs - it won't carry a load of stones without a good deal of worrying on my part - but for the needs of a small suburban garden, it is perfect.

IMG_20200427_145813695_HDR.jpg

The first thing my wheelbarrow contained was my cat Freddy. Freddy is a newcomer to my household, having not long ago been the most feral of feral cats, and now being one of the most loving cats I've ever had. And he's blue!

Back to the wheelbarrow, the subject matter at hand. Not everything is about cats.

text15.png

IMG_20200427_142735289_HDR.jpg

It arrived in a very small box that I could carry easily. So far so good.

text15.png

IMG_20200427_143619436_HDR.jpg

This baby took very little time to assemble, and included the two tiny tools I needed to do so. Win win!

text15.png

IMG_20200427_151028001.jpg

It folds up so that it I can leave it on my small porch, and I can even carry it easily with one hand.

text15.png

IMG_20200427_144941882.jpg

I wasn't thrilled with these extra pieces when I was all done assembling the thing, but, as it turns out, my wheelbarrow works just fine without them.

text15.png

IMG_20200427_150353681.jpg

The wheelbarrow's first load was garlic mustard, which would be the only thing living in my flower garden if it weren't so easy to pull up and pile onto the compost pile instead. My cat Patches was supervising.

All these photos were taken last year. My wheelbarrow survived its first year of fairly heavy use. It has no tears, nothing is broken, it is easy to clean by simply brushing it off, and the tire is still inflated.

If you need a tiny wheelbarrow to do small jobs, a wheelbarrow that won't piss you off, a wheelbarrow even a small child could handle, this is the one. The best price on this that I could find was through ebay for $95.

If you're a real gardener though, you might want to get yourself a real wheelbarrow.


page break by @thekittygirl


all images are mine

Sort:  

I'm sure the wheelbarrow is wonderful, but I'm still stuck at the photo of Freddy the Gray Blue making it his own. #FreddyLove!!!

Lol I first thought the "little people" you meant the cats. 🤣 Happy for you that you found that! I'm not a gardener myself but I understand that frustration because literally every wheelbarrow that I see are just too heavy. I can't even move it hahaha. And those cats are cute!

This thing has helped me enormously. I have a more sturdy cart for the big jobs, but it has to be stored in a less accessible place. I love this thing for carrying tools, compost, weeds etc. Thanks for stopping by!

A folding wheelbarrow? Wow, what a thing! 😃

I think that was the most attractive feature about this thing. Those other wheelbarrows were always in the way of something I needed. Thanks for stopping in!

#GarlicMustard
please do more than pile it on your compost heap, where it will re-root and thrive.
#Burn, baby, burn! I get a roaring-hot bonfire going and then feed it the dreaded *invasive weed.
#weed #weed #weed Oh what a plant-bigot I am!

I think of you every single time I see it. So far, it hasn't popped up at all, but I know when it does, I start pulling. I'm sure you will be delighted by my post about all the different recipes I make up for that one.

If you can't beat it, eat it!
The Garlic man has an entire recipe book on garlic mustard. It's potent. Maybe it's even healthy.
But it's super invasive. I've seen it take down a colony of bluebells. #ZeroTolerance
https://www.ediblewildfood.com/blog/2012/04/eating-garlic-mustard-is-a-win-win/

We offer a comprehensive 20-page, $5 Garlic Mustard PDF (includes recipes)! Garlic mustard is a wild edible that has earned the title of being invasive in many geographical areas.

ledameredith.com/garlic-mustard-pesto/

This is a recipe from The Forager's Feast: How to Identify, Gather, and Prepare Wild Edibles.... Garlic mustard is a biennial that has been hanging out all winter, even when its leaves were buried under snow in cold winter areas.

I didn't know it is biennial. I do not yet see any sign of garlic mustard here, and the snow is all gone.

https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/plant-problems/weeds/how-to-use-garlic-mustard-plants.htm
Garlic Mustard Recipes

The Washington Post has a quick garlic mustard sauté. It simply cooks some garlic in olive oil and then adds chopped garlic mustard leaves and water. Cook for 5 minutes and you have an interesting, wild side dish.

The plant secretes toxins that kill beneficial soil fungi, which most plants need to thrive.

That explains the bluebells.

Humans are the only animal that will touch it.

That explains a lot.

Yeah, if only the deer would eat it - goats do - as I recall @goat-girlz (sp?) hired out their herds.
The problem is that garlic mustard shades the new sprouts or seedlings of other plants.
Also each plant produces about 10,000 tiny seeds, all of them viable.
If only ascelpius tuberosa, the beloved orange butterflyweed, were so viable! Or hoary puccoon. Or any number of natives I cannot get to spread here.
I'd be far more tolerant of GM if it didn't kill everything in its path.
Here's to garlic pesto!