No Harm Done

IMG_20190727_161640240.jpg

text16.png

For my physical being I choose:

to be nourished by bluebells and buttercups and wild roses

to be kept alive by fragrance
freely given and deeply drawn
in forests, on shores and at edges of precipices

for the whoosh of a flock of crows
to power my heart

that every late October find me a moment
to sit beside fothergilla
feasting with my eyes

and any fears be quieted
by the spring brush of a pussy willow
on my lips

these things would bear me
and I them

no harm done

text16.png

All images are my own unless otherwise stated.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Thank you!

This poem makes me so happy, @owasco. It gives me a feeling of hope and a sense that calm and peace are possible. Beautifully done.

Thank you Jayna! I am very happy with it. I was trying to envision a physical being that is nourished by something other than food - a "breatharian" - and was left with the same feelings you had when it was (finally) done.

Nourishing oneself in nature poetry is refreshing to read, absorbing ourselves into nature a wonderful place to be @owasco

Thank you Joan. Being able to get out into nature has sustained me these past few months. I am one of the lucky ones.

GREAT POST!!!

Thank you for publishing it to our community feed!
Compliments of the PHC founder @jaynie...

We have upvoted and reblogged it for you.

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

thank you!

This is beautiful and it is what I would choose too xxxx

Oooh, I love this!
Crows woosh through your poetry fairly regularly, but fothergilla, not until today.
#Love it!

Fragrant Witch Alder (Fothergilla spp.)

No I think only twice with the crows. It's such a great idea - crows powering my heart, that you will see it again I am sure.
Fothergilla is my favorite garden shrub, because now.

We'll see crows again - awesome! I love crows. (And I could swear I've seen crows in 3 or 4 of your poems, but I'm not usually right about anything involving math.)
Fothergilla, witch hazel: I hear the rumblings of a new heroine. Hmm, maybe she's an emu and fits into the @bananafish Finish the Story contest. If you don't use it, I might have to take a stab at it.

Are you entering that too? I better get cracking then! It takes me a week to write one of those, and I'm rusty. That fothergilla character is all yours...