Morning Coffee Rocket Fuel Ramble -04-06-2020

Good Morning Hivelanders!

As any of you know that have wandered into my morning posts before, i gather my thoughts , reflect and think of what is ahead while I consume much rocket fuel to fire me up for the day. I'm sat here this morning realising that before this whole Covid-19 debacle my morning routine was very different but did contain some of the same elements. Well coffee for starters!

CMR1.jpg

But the way in which I would start the day, tackle it if you will, was different. Very much the shit, shower, shave, coffee, gone sort of thing. Having these weeks in which urgency was not an issue. Time I had a plenty, I don't whoosh through the morning in the same way. before this I would arrive at work early and had my set routine and resume drinking coffee and I would usually be the 1st in but i didn't get the same sense of peace and gain the mindful energy i now feel by taking an hour to myself to have a few coffees and type out a bit of a ramble and really collect my thoughts.

CMR3.jpg
I realise that the mere fact that I had "arrived" in the workplace kind of flicks a switch in my head. The opening routine and greet the early arrivals. Often guests would arrive very early or be there already as they just arrived and could not check into their hotel and had nowhere to be. So my meandering ramble this morning is me trying to see how i retain this little moment i have moving forward. I don't want to go back to the way it was before.I won't. I will ponder this and change things accordingly. We will also not be hugely busy upon reopening soon which will also give me some leeway. Theres a coffee shop 2 mins walk from the dive shop and they actually reopen on the 8th so you know where i will be typing this from then don't you;) it will be interesting to see if I can mix up the morning vibe, retain my morning rocketfuel ramble and make it part of my "new normal" as people are saying a little too much at the moment.

CMR2.jpg

My thoughts really are a ramble this morning. If you're still with me thanks for your time reading my random cafeine fueled ramblings.

Please be safe out there in the world wherever it is you are

Ciao!

Sort:  

I haven't had my coffee yet but I will get to it in a few. Yes, change is inevitable. We just need to ponder how to integrate it well into our life and move forward with it. The 'new normal' will be different but just the same, we need to take it by the horns and face it.

The closest thing to a coffee shop 2 minutes away from my place is a 7-11. Hahaha

don't knock 7/11 haha. If you've ever been to Japan ohhhhboi 7/11 is awesome there

Their coffee is okay, just that the chairs and tables are not that comfortable to be able to do some work. :)

ahhhh so true. Looking forward to being able to go to the city again. Want to frequent a few coffee places . Be nice to do my morning ramble at some other locations

There are quite a few coffee places in Quezon City that you might wanna check out. Just saying. :)

yup its on my list next time we go. If I have a flight out with a connection in Manila I prefer to spend the night to build in a buffer zone for delays. Reduces stress and give the opportunity to do something different , eat somewhere different

great. have a fantastic day ahead man.

I think this pause has allowed for some perspective, particularly in the private lives of people. I wish this reflection could be transvalued into society. But I look outside my door and it feels like everything that happened in the past 10 to 12 years is repeating and it's just farcical now. That feeling of not wanting to go back to the way things were is required for change.

An interesting thing about coffee is its intimate history with change. You should look it up.

Nice piece. I really enjoy reading this.

caffeine fuelled rambles are the new normal!