Rocket Fuel Coffee Morning Ramble- Cleaning House

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

Goooooood Moooorning Hiiiiiive!

well I am in one of those "lets grab the day by the balls" moods this morning. I've decided to switch activities for the dive shop gang this morning and give them a break from the heavy work of shifting rubble.

IMG6118.jpg
Testerday I noticed that a lot of trash was washing in from the ocean. It happens sometimes and comes in in what I call a trash slick. So even though not the most pleasant of jobs, it's light work and there's a feelgood factor about turning a dirty environment into a clean one. There's a satisfaction and a "we did that" feel from it. I will be posting these efforts later today as it should be quite a transformation. Has to be done.
IMG6119.jpg
Other than that we are still in the old waiting game concerning the Executive Order that will inform us as to whether we can resume diving operations or open the bar to the public. Either of these would take some pressure off of us financially and both would mean we can easily survive the year and take care of the whole staff. We wait and see. After several false starts and let downs I don't want to get my hopes up too much. The knockbacks are harder to take after over 3 months now.
IMG6117.jpg
So I will consume a few more cups of coffee here at the dive shop as I am here super early, and await the clean up crew. I want a feel good productive day today. It's important and positivity is as infectious as the damned covid-19 is. I know what needs spreading more.
IMG6121.jpg

Look out for the clean up post later you may be surprised by the amount of garbage that can come in over night and dump on the shore a field of horrible plastic filth. We will clean it up!

You guys stay safe out there wherever you may be on the planet of ours.

Ciao!

Sort:  

I hope that mood stayed with you throughout the day, those are the days we can do anything!

Yes I often say that I love the truly satisfying jobs most of all, there's something to be said for surveying a scene and knowing that you were there afterwards. Scubahead... The name is apt after all, I always wonder when I read a username lol.

I can't help thinking that by now trash-slicks should be a thing of the past, surely we are educated enough and respectful enough by now...

Take good care, have an awesome Friday and a great cruise down to the weekend :D

oh my days it's Friday. I really hadn't noticed. Need more coffee. Yes Scubahead is apt as I part own/ run a dive shop. Scuba my Job, Motorhead one of my facourite bands , simple really. I even had a t shirt designed with a mish mash of the combo. You have a great day also bro

Ah! a multi-faceted name that is doubly apt, I love it!

That is an incredibly cool way to spend your working days (says the guy who can barely swim lol) I'm sure it doesn't always feel so cool, (it's still work after all) but I work 12 hour shifts in a factory with no natural lights, windows or idea if the outside world even still exists until break-time.

I imagine your work to be slightly more liberating and I'm sure it stems from a passion of yours. Catch you in the comments sections soon :D

its still work but i have also done for years your side of the fence also so I understand completely. Because of this i am aware how good it is even if its a crap day

I'm for opening everything right now, no restrictions - this is CRAZY.
So I hope that even more now, for you too.
But it does not suck to be stuck where you are stuck. Maybe how you are stuck sucks, but not where.

even if they open the tap just a little we can survive and pay the staff. Here's hoping something moves forward

If I were there I'd be helping clean up 100% @scubahead.
Where ARE you? What is this location?
Can I come live with you? (or just visit?)

i am in Cebu in the Philippines. When tourism opens up you should make a visit here as it's a really beautiful place

I would love to do that; it is my plan to do some traveling before I get too old to enjoy or remember it.
My main disability came through just over a year ago, so I can finally for the first time in my entire life go on a vacation or trip. Never before have I gone somewhere that wasn't for a family event, funeral or wedding, or going to work.
Now that I can do that, I can't because of this blasted quarantine.

when it all blows over this would a perfect place to explore. The people pretty much all speak english. It's not difficult to travel around. It's very different and beautiful. Also the $ will go a long way here also. When the time comes we can talk and I can point you in the right direction if you fance a trip to the Philippines

Hey @scubahead, something kept nagging me about "Cebu"... it came to me last night.
Years ago on FB I befriended a Vet named Roy Ross, who had married a Filipino and lived in or around Cebu City?
He had PTSD, but he wrote cute songs and asked me to arrange and create midi files of them for him.
I did that and we were off and on for about 18 months as I recall, then he dropped off.
Isn't that coincidental!

it is and in some way I think someone has mentioned those lyrics to me before. It's going to bug me now til i remember where and who

Loading...

Directly or indirectly the human life is deeply affected by this.The ocean would indeed be a nice place if we avoid depositing trash along the shores. People needs to be educated on the importance of treating Nature nicely. Nice captures friend , what do you shoot with?

these were with an Ipad, I also use a go pro and an Olympus OM-D of my wifes that I steal

They produce Nice captures indeed

thank you. I just like taking pics, I am learning and know very little. Great to play with imagery

Curiosity can get you what you want one way or another. Keep learning more about photography you'd do amazingly well 🙌

very kind of you to say so . Keep hiving my friend it's a fertile platform and I don't think its even really got started yet. Lets see where it takes us