Life Preserver


Image Credit

Crisis is sometimes a quiet prayer
the breath riding a wish, the breath,
me under a log in the woods, buried
by my own fertility

If I capsize, bail me out with sponges
absorb me in slow bursts and wring
me out with enough force to stop
sadness from flowing

over nickels in a well. I'm drowning
in life and the luxury of children;
halfway to the bottom I cannot see
the sunlight

and it may be stars are out. Fatigue
fogs my compass so I do not know
up from down or day from night
and this is fine,

but I could use a vest or rope,
some muscle to haul me out
of the depths of this . . . this
wearied water.

~~~

I teach blogging, expressive writing for traumatic release and recovery and host generative writing sessions at the Center for Creative Writing. Write with me!

or visit me at my home site


honeyquill.com

Sort:  

Beautiful poem! I hope you find this special and durable rope :)