Discontent and that content

It is just after 5am, I had had 2 hours sleep before being awoken at 2.30, I have a training session at 8 and I can't go to the office early because I will need to pick up some food, but the only shop on the way doesn't open til 6 am. I can make do on very little sleep, so will manage, but it doesn't mean that I enjoy this feeling that my head is going to topple off.

Thankfully, the training session is a short one of only a few hours, but I have left some of my prep til this morning, which would have been fine under normal conditions, but in hindsight, I should have worked on the weekend for it instead. It isn't great thinking this tired.

I think that after the session I will take a few hours to myself and head to the hardware store to price up some material options - this is what I call "me time" of late, as it breaks the routine of work, while still adding value to what I need to do. I wonder if part of the reason I can't really get into entertainment activities much these days is because I have so much work to do - or at least, keep myself busy with things that I consider work and these things take time and energy.

While laying in bed trying to fall back to sleep, I gave up and decided to read something instead, rather than write. Stupidly, I decided on the news, something that I tend to stay away from like the plague, as every time I do randomly check it, it is filled with stupid, and today was no exception. Ridiculous US politics (Can it still be called politics?), ridiculous stories about celebrities that I don't even know from Instagram or someplace, ridiculous embedded adverts for products and brands pretending they are stories and - all of them filled with ridiculous tweets from nobodies in an attempt to social proof the content for validity.

What a waste of time. I should have written instead.

At least with writing I can have an intelligent conversation with myself - well, a conversation anyway. There is more social value in this for me than there is in reading the news as I think that while I have very little idea most of the time as to what ridiculous stories are circulating the 24 hour news cycle (12 hour perhaps now), I can't generally hold a decent conversation about aspects of them that people talk about, with very little background information.

I am not sure if this is a good or a bad thing however, as while I can hold the conversation, I don't reference much of much and it seems now that everyone likes to Google for their "own" thoughts, they have the belief that unless someone else with a name said it first, it is invalid. Don't you find it interesting that "invalid" means being without foundation, truth or law - and it also means disabled?

I have often questioned the way some parents raise children, especially in the way they feed them and wonder, at what point does a poor diet become child abuse. I feel that if a child is raised being fed a poor diet, they are being set up for failure in many ways that will affect them for life. I also think that this can include informational diets too - where parents can feed their kids thoughts that can affect them in limiting ways also.

But, at what point do we become "invalid" as humans in general - at what point do our human abilities degrade so much that we can no longer be considered human? For example, if someone cruel and lacking compassion, we call them "inhumane" - which literally means not human. Yet, if our culture makes us cruel and lacking in compassion, does that mean we are evolving ourselves to not be humans? Just like the dietary abuse, where is the line?

From the inside of the system, we will maintain consistency as we will see ourselves as progressing, but hold the narrative as always us - but, I wonder if we were able to observe ourselves over time from the outside, would we see that we had evolved into a new species? Out of all the animals on earth, humans have the special ability to have a very heavy hand in our own development, as well as the environments in which we develop - Based on the changes and decisions we make, at what point do humans fork into something else completely?

It is interesting to consider, isn't it? I think that in the past, evolution has created a strengthening of a species through evolving changes that improve the chances of survival in conditions - but when we are able to engineer the conditions in such extreme ways, are we going to evolve to become stronger, or weaker? If we grow in some kind of vacuum or low gravity environment, do our muscles improve? What about when it comes to our experience, where we spend our time consuming a diet of engineered and curated content specially delivered for us in order to make us click more and more?

Perhaps though, none of this matters to most of us as one thing we can't be, is outside of the ecosystem that contains us.So regardless of what an individual may think on any topic, our evolution is going to be dictated by the masses - and the masses seem content with discontent.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

When did Twitter become a news source? I have an 'early morning' news gatherer where I usually just check headlines on the actual news and may read a story or two about items that interest me. This morning it was the Specs and Pricing on the new Rivian EV pickup (specs are good price not so much) and what the WSU coach said after Saturday night's loss.

Both articles were bolstered at the bottom by tweets from who knows who. WTF?

Natural Selection has made mistakes in the past and will again if we survive long enough. Is geekiness or huge piles of money a selection item (Elon Musk has 6 children)? That might be a dead end. Or it might be the shape of things to come. I do believe that Natural Selection is self correcting and self enforcing. Painful though that might be.

When did Twitter become a news source

I think since there is no incentive for actual journalism due to the click cycle. In the past, reporters would at least have to go out onto the street and ask questions to get opinions - now they just follow a hashtag.

Both articles were bolstered at the bottom by tweets from who knows who. WTF?

Do you remember old news reports where at a protest, they would find the most ignorant/ militant/ craziest/ strangest/ weirdest ? - Now they have Twitter and don't even need to get out of bed to be a reporter.

I do believe that Natural Selection is self correcting and self enforcing. Painful though that might be.

I think so too. Often, the people calling for "no more than a billion people" consider themselves pre-selected. What are there criteria?

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Eventually, you will run out of power if you don't recharge. Even the Eveready bunny needs a plugin, now and again. I used to put the same judgment on people when my kid was very young and what they ate really impacted their growth. Now, I wonder if I was too judgmental, just because I had the right answers on health. And then they change what is healthy, overnight. Pfft.

I admit that I watch little to no news anymore. It started scaring the bejesus out of me and I work in healthcare. Nothing should scare me anymore.

I have had a Twitter account since '09 and last year, I deleted everyone and every tweet on it. It was downright ridiculous for the most part. Two days after that I laughed at what a loser I was, an account since 2009 with no friends or tweets. LOL

I hope you had a great day!

Now, I wonder if I was too judgmental, just because I had the right answers on health.

I wonder the same, but I also see 6 year olds that look like 45 year old drinkers. Don't the parents understand where it leads psychologically? I can't even say it is out of a lack of education here, though I could question the content of the education.

And then they change what is healthy, overnight. Pfft.

I wonder if the basics ever change, or just the fashion.

Two days after that I laughed at what a loser I was, an account since 2009 with no friends or tweets. LOL

Sounds like one of my accounts from way back when - and I didn't delete anyone ;D

It was a pretty good day - though I am knackered. Yours?

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Hello, I read your reflections and I was struck by what you mentioned about the use of the term inhumane, because I believe that violence has always accompanied man, I do not know if it is in our nature or we can change because it is not only about surviving but improving as a species while respecting the laws of nature.

I agree with what you say about twitter, I read it to be informed but it is not really the best way, but in my country, there is no longer written press and I only have that alternative. Greetings and happy day.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Muchas gracias

!ENGAGE 20

Please explain to me what engage 20 means. Thank you

Ah. It is a token on Hive-Engine. It is distributed with the idea of rewarding comments a little more and there are even some followers voting behind it to increase the value.

If someone has over 1000 tokens, they can distribute it too.

There should be a link in the comment from misterengagement.

Edit. There is no link, but you can have a search for it on Hive-Engine

Thank you very much for the explanation, I had read something about this but I was not very sure, Greetings

I do not know if it is in our nature or we can change because it is not only about surviving but improving as a species while respecting the laws of nature.

Perhaps it is in our nature and when we act like animals, we are inhuman - whereas when we act with compassion we are what we have evolved to be.

Why is there no longer written press? (It doesn't really exist most places now)

Because the government has not given the necessary conditions to acquire the paper and also because it is not interested or convenient that there is information, there is practically a newspaper that the government manages. I am Venezuelan.

Are their independent citizen based news services?

I'm not sure this answers your question. The independent news services that we can read online, are mostly Venezuelan , who have worked for many years these services and there you can read the information that comes to them from international agencies and also national news. The regional services reflect news of interest for their region.

and the masses seem content with discontent.

That does seem to be pretty true. I wonder if it will ever change. I do think evolution is working and that we as a species are splintering. Violence hate and anger seem to be more a part of the city environment than the rural environment, at least in America.

The people in the rural areas were not really all up and angry burning and looting their home towns, the residence of the cities were tearing their own city down, killing their neighbors, angry and taking it out on themselves. I don't think we as humans were designed to live in such close proximity with so many others. The lines of who is the alpha have blurred, just so many people no one really knows any more.

Violence hate and anger seem to be more a part of the city environment than the rural environment, at least in America.

I think it will reach all corners and not just in the US - it is just that the US seems ahead of the curve in violence.

The people in the rural areas were not really all up and angry burning and looting their home towns, the residence of the cities were tearing their own city down, killing their neighbors, angry and taking it out on themselves.

Perhaps it is mostly because the rural towns are owned by the people, whereas the cities are largely corporations and running on debt?

I take the homicide rate as a proxy for violence in general. I believe it is reasonable to say the higher the homicide rate the higher the rate of beatings and physical attacks. There are all kinds of biases when you rely on self reporting, or if you rely on government courts to decide what is violence and what is not.

A quick search and calculations revealed that the world homicide rate is 51 or 52 homicides million and the US homicide rate is 61 per million.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I think in rural America, people do have a tendency to own and not rent, but the corporations were and still are moving in buying the farms and whatever else they can get.

Maybe it is also the sense of ownership. Country people are more community based than city perhaps - so they see the town as theirs.

I think that you need to have a look at this my friend.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crime_in_South_Africa

Yes I know. But the US is also the largest economy in the world.

Agreed and the bonus is that it is first-world.
But the way things are going lately, everyone suffers.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Well, you certainly found something to read. For a long time I do not read any news except the news of the world of cryptocurrencies. And then, among this news is full of muck. From what is really interesting to read - some articles on Hive, for example yours.

There is very little of interest in the news - or perhaps worse, very little of use.

I'm amazed you're writing anything with all that prep work to do!

I didn't want to do it at home. I was in the office at 615 or so, which gave me almost 2 hours :)

Wow, that is an early start!

While laying in bed trying to fall back to sleep, I gave up and decided to read something instead, rather than write. Stupidly, I decided on the news, something that I tend to stay away from like the plague, as every time I do randomly check it, it is filled with stupid, and today was no exception. Ridiculous US politics (Can it still be called politics?), ridiculous stories about celebrities that I don't even know from Instagram or someplace, ridiculous embedded adverts for products and brands pretending they are stories and - all of them filled with ridiculous tweets from nobodies in an attempt to social proof the content for validity.

I wonder if you also got to read something today on the Hive blockchain, what different epithet would you describe it with? Also stupid and ridiculous? Or would you prefer that we think you didn't find anything in the Hive blockchain that was worthy to read today?

I read a couple articles and quite a few comments. I always find interesting things on Hive, but I also spend about 8 hours a day here most days.

Congratulations @tarazkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Project Activity Update

What a great friend, that's right.

Great friend. The greatest.