Remembering BNK on #caturday

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

We've always had the occasional stray cat to wander through the neighborhood. One will appear every day for a few weeks or a few months, then we don't see it again. I always wonder if it moved on to another area, looking for better conditions, whether someone gave it a home, or whether it met some sad demise while homeless and fending for itself.

My heart goes out to any creature that is suffering, whether human or otherwise. I learned a long time ago, however, that we should do what good we can, but that one person cannot alleviate all the suffering. It would not have been wise, nor economically feasible, to put food out for all the cats that wandered through the property over the years. Doing so also provides incentive for them to stay close at hand.

Several years ago, a little gray, tabby cat wandered through the yard. She appeared to be gentle, sweet, and never caused any trouble. I actually enjoyed watching her walk through the yard, moreso than most other stray cats. She was quite skittish, though, and didn't come close. When she walked by me, she kept quite a bit of distance between us and frequently turned her head to ensure that I had not advanced her towards her.

In the above B&W photo, she is sitting in the yard and turning her head to look at me in a normal manner. However, when she wasn't sitting upright, she always turned her head in a rather odd way... If you have ever woken with a "crink" in your neck, where you feel a soreness that extends down into your shoulder, you probably remember that you cannot turn your head directly to the side — when you try, your head has to slightly tilt as it turns. Furthermore, you can't turn you head very far, and have to turn your entire upper body slightly to effectively look in that direction. That is almost how it looked when she turned her head while standing or walking. It made it appear (at least to me) that her neck had been injured at some point in her life, perhaps in a fight with another stay cat. So, I began to refer to her as the "Broke Neck Kitty" when I spoke of her to anyone else.

My mother's family had a dog on the farm where she was raised, as well as mules and other animals, but she never wanted any animals around after she and my father married. My father was not fond of the idea of having animals, either, so we never had a dog or cat when I was a child. Whenever stray cats or dogs came into the yard, one of my parents would often go to the door, stomp their feet, clap their hands once or twice, and yell to urge the animal to journey onward so it would not attempt to stay. My mother had Alzheimer's Syndrome during her last years; we cared for her at home as long as we could, but she eventually had to be placed in a Skilled Nursing Facility nearby. So, it was just my father and me (serving as his caregiver) during the years the Broke Neck Kitty was here. I spoke so fondly of her and enjoyed watching for her each day that my father never attempted to scare her away.

My father lost his eyesight due to Pseudoxanthoma Elasticum and was legally-blind with only about 1% of his vision remaining. So, even if I could have convinced him to let us give the Broke Neck Kitty a safe and happy home, its presence indoors would have been a serious tripping hazard for my already compromised father. So, she was definitely going to have to stay outside.

One cold winter day, I saw her ambling through the yard and wondered if she'd found anything to eat that day. Despite my father's protestations, I put a little food out for her. I don't even remember now what that first meal was, whether it was a bit of chicken or something else. But, I knew it would nourish her if she would eat, and it would help to keep her body-heat to a safe level. She didn't go near the plate until I left it outside and returned indoors, and only then approached it slowly and carefully. But, she ate, and seemed to be quite hungry, too. It did my heart good to see her eating and enjoying the food. Not long after she finished, she wandered out of the yard to another destination.

After that first meal, I frequently put food out for her. I always waited, though, to see her come into the yard and then scrambled to get something out there before she left, as I didn't want to be feeding other strays, raccoons, or anything besides her. Sometimes I wasn't fast enough, and she disappeared before I could get the food out there, but most of the time it worked. She always seemed grateful for everything I gave her, whether it was a saucer of milk, some tuna, chicken, or beef. I finally bought a box of tinned cat food and kept that on-hand for when leftovers weren't available.

As time passed, she eventually became accustomed to me and trust began to develop. I could never walk towards her, even slowly, without her running away. One day, however, I was sitting outside and she came almost within arm's reach, but not quite. I reached out my hand and leaned slightly in her direction to pet her, but she darted away right before my hand touched her. So, we made progress, even though we never physically connected.

One morning, I stepped outside to find her sleeping on top of my car. I suppose she felt safe up there and warm from the sun. I managed to grab a photo without disturbing her and think it is a very precious shot!

And then one day she did not wander through the yard, nor the next day, nor the one after that. I kept watch for a whole week or two, hoping to see her again, but she never returned. I was heart-broken and never discovered what happened to her. It is my hope, however, that she was taken-in by some kind soul rather than becoming a meal for some wild animal or being hit by a vehicle. I don't even remember exactly how long she was a fixture in our neighborhood, but I think it was the better part of two years. And if she had still been around when my father passed-away, I would definitely have made a more concerted effort to get her to trust me and brought her indoors if she would come. Here is thinking of you, dear Broke Neck Kitty, wherever you are... 😥

 😊


banner made by me with a free clipart image from PNGio.com


to learn more about either of these projects, please visit: @heyhaveyamet or @theterminal


08-Aug-2020

Sort:  

I had my own feral kitty in San Antonio,Texas - until she had a litter of kittens in my garden.The I spayed he and raised her kids.

I love your story upped and reposree.myse

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 18 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
2

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

I love stories like this. It's true we cannot end all suffering. But, we can make the world around us as comfortable as possible. 😻

GREAT POST!!!

Thank you for publishing it to our community feed!
Compliments of the PHC founder @jaynie...

We have tweeted, upvoted and reblogged it for you.

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Although I can't stop thinking that something tragic happened to him, I still think it's a nice story.

Oh, kitty you made me sad by your story. But I was hooked into it and keep on reading it. Yeah, there are those people who don't like animals. It's not that I don't like them but I make myself distance from them especially when I'm not sure to take responsibility to them. Although, I'm enjoying watching them and patting them. hehe

It's fine kitty, her soul was at peace even though she didn't return. I'm sure of it.

What a beautiful story! Hopefully she have found a happy and respectful home. However, have the consolation that you were a good person with her, and you gave her affection and love, even if they did not have physical contact. I loved your post!

This is such a great sorry. You have such a big heart. I see why you are the kittygirl. I do hope BNK was taken in by niece people to take care of her.

I live in an area that has a large population of Feral Cats. Both of my 'stinking cats' (the only name they got) started out Feral and spent much of their time outside. Neither lasted particularly long, but they were a joy while they were part of my life.

I don't have any 'stinking cats' now because I've gotten a dog who doesn't like kitties in his yard. I'm OK with that.

I'm glad you got to know BNK AND that you remember. Says something about you, too.

Awww....
I was raised in the countryside and we always had some cats. Some were ours from their birth, some just showed up one day to stay for a bit and then disappear for whatever reason. I don't remember many of them, but there is a few of those special ones that stay in my memory.
Beautiful story! I hope she found a good home.

The best breed is the adopted, the rescued, the strays, the needy and the ones that will most appreciate your love. 😀

Beautiful story. gorgeous puss.
Shame she left and never came back.
I had a stray by the name of Tigger never come home either and searched the streets for him every day and nights for weeks. 😭

It still hurts thinking about my sweet Sun Conure Aurora, who flew off. Though I know what all the possibilities of what happened to her could be, I prefer to think she found a flock or family to take care of her.

No sense dwelling on the negative. It doesn't help at all. I hope the same for BNK. :):):)

You made a difference for a season. Some people and animals sometimes comes into our lives just for a season.
Do you have cats of your own now?
!tip

🎁 Hi @thekittygirl! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @hope777!

@hope777 wrote lately about: 2020 "Bright Spot" For A Father - Good News❗❗ Feel free to follow @hope777 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Wow! What a story. There is beauty though in the fact it chose you for awhile to be its guardian of sorts for a brief time.

I once had a cat in Cambodia come into my room and give birth to kittens. I only provided water and a place to stay, but never fed it any of our undesirable vegan food. Even without being fed she stuck around for a few weeks until she carried her kittens off to a new destination one by one.

It was an awesome experience, certainly not a "pet" type relationship.

You have a kind heart and helped make her life a little easier providing food! I get all teary eyed when I think of what befalls the strays.
I had one stray cat that came in through our cat door and our cats accepted him so I did too. He turned out to be a real cuddle cat and has lived with us for over 20 years now - out living the other cats. So happy to have him in our life!

Here he is in the lounge chair - not looking like a wild cat at all!
JJ lounging on deck chair.JPG

A beautiful story of kindness to an little animal @thekittygirl. I understand your sadness as I have had a few strays over the years and a couple became permanent pets.

There is something special when a stray chooses you to visit.

Blessings!

Cats are free souls indeed. Glad she provided you a bit of comfort during tough times. They come and go as they please. Lots of stray cats around where I live. I feed them sometimes but they only come when they can't get anything better than some bread haha. That's a lovely story. Thanks for sharing with us!

Pets sure have a way of wandering into our hearts.