You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making Peace 🧘 With Being Stranded In Suriname 😌

I knew you were stranded in Suriname but I didn't even begin to understand how much complicated the whole story was. What a big mess.

I'm glad to see that you're still keeping up a good fight and I hope things will turn out for the best for all of you.

Hopefully your wife will be able to open a restaurant there. With her cooking skills, there's a chance it will be a success even in such a failing economy.

I'll reshare your article to raise awareness for your story... As people say, every little bit helps and I hope your articles in Hive keep giving you a fighting chance.

I wish you all the best. A big hug from Portugal. 🤗

Sort:  

Thanks @trincowski, very kind words.

Well, in a way we dodged a bullet by not opening a mini cafe abroad, because we would've gone bankrupt from COVID-19. Now a restaurant is the worst business to have in the world, so we feel good knowing that dream didn't happen.

Even though @Sreypov shares all the recipes, I actually have the culinary background, but I cook in the evenings, so it's not suited for photography that well. @Sreypov was already naturally a good cook when we met, all I did was show her how to veganize her recipes and use healthier ingredients.

When it comes to the high stress and fast-paced environment of a restaurant, I tend to handle the kitchen a little better, and @Sreypov's English is good enough to handle customers.

Suriname is a different ballgame, and she just doesn't have the ability to communicate in Dutch or Sranang Tongo, so it would be a struggle here. The biggest surprise was that even though this country is full of Indonesian and Indian DNA, Surinamers don't actually like traditional Indonesian and Indian food, which is what the two of us cook. I would go step further and say Suriname food is barely edible and full of chemicals and food coloring.

Thanks for the kind words @trincowski, I didn't intend for my post to turn into a rant, I just needed to let some steam escape.

Icchhh. That food seems really bad. And those guys are still alive? They must have developed some kind of immunity to such poison.

Good luck for you and your family. Hope everything goes well.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.