How to Use dBlog as Your Personal Website or Blog

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


How to Use dBlog as Your Personal Website or Blog

Ever wanted to have your own blog or website powered by a blockchain?

In this video I show you how to do just that and more!

I dont know how many times I've said since I joined Hive that I wanted a website that was ran on Hive. I know there is a Wordpress plugin that is supposed to create a bridge between Hive and your Wordpress blog. But from what I understand is that it has some problems with rendering the html correctly. I cannot confirm this since I do not and have not used it.

Another big problem with that is that you have to pay for that Wordpress blog on hosting somewhere and have a domain name. Then you have to worry about keeping it up to date on security patches and end up fighting like crazy to keep the spam comments off of it. You become a webmaster and not a content creator like you wanted to. But there is a better way. It's easier than Wordpress or Blogger and it's basically free. If you use Hive you can be set up and blogging like crazy in a matter of minutes.

It is with great pleasure I introduce you to dBlog.

What is dblog?

dBlog is a blogging platform powered by Hive. It's simple, clean, easy and actually a breeze to use. It just gets out of your way and lets you create content. You can get started in 3 simple easy steps.

  1. Go to dBlog and sign in with your Hive account using Hivesigner. If you don't have a Hive account (why not?) you can learn about that here.
  2. Go to "Create New Blog"
  3. This one is the tricky part. If you already have a Hive account and want to import it here then import it. It's super fast so dont reach for the coffee cup! If you just want to start a new one then click on write a post and enjoy!

It really is that simple. I go into a little more detail in the video so be sure to watch that.

Now I got a blog. So how is this different than on PeakD?

Well for one on PeakD and other front ends to Hive you see everybody s posts. People you follow, posts from communities you follow. It's like a social media site. But if you use dBlog you are making yourself the centerpiece.

You can purchase a domain like I did (twice) and then choose the posts you wish to show on that domain. Yes I said buy a domain, did I mention with Hive or HBD through dBlog? Thats just frickin' cool! The first one I bought was just to try it out. The second one I thought, what the hell and bought it just because it was cool. When you purchase through the dBlog marketplace it will automatically set up the dns for you to point it to the blog that you choose. The ssl certs are free and set up for you as well.

For instance on unklebonehead.online. I basically show all of my posts from hive. On loudandproud.live it will show only the posts about my show Loud & Proud on MSPWaves. You can choose which posts show on that domain.

Summary

Posting to dBlog is just as easy, and IMO much easier than on PeakD or Hive.blog. Because I dont have any distractions taking my attention away from me creating content. It's simple and easy to use and just lets me write.


If you like what I do a would like to know more you can visit my blog.

You can also find all my social links and ways to donate in crypto other than Hive at my Cointree

You can watch or listen to my live broadcast on MSPWaves and find the show notes and links at Loud & Proud.


▶️ 3Speak


Originally posted on Unkle Bonehead. Hive blog powered by ENGRAVE.

Sort:  

It's always good to have positive content... especially when it's a tutorial! In the past, I have used Appics, as well as Mosaeek for video posts. I need to look into 3Speak...

Appreciate your time and also, pleasure to meet you brother !tip

Thank you! I love positive content. There is so much hate and discontent on those other social places. Thats whats keeping me here. Everyday I find someone new and interesting to follow. Or a project or dapp that just blows my mind.

I've said it lots of times already. I came to hive for the decentralization. Im staying because of the community. There really is nothing like it!
Pleasure to meet you as well!

You explained it well how nice is dblog. Well, I must agree because I found it amazing. That's what I was in mind before to have my own site in hive blockchain. It's nice to type your address in the site and then your content be seen right away.

Good tutorial tho.

Thank you. There is more coming next week. I just dont have time to pound them all out at once. Lol.
Gonna think some more thoroughly on the next couple.

🎁 Hi @unklebonehead! You have received 0.1 HBD tip from @wesphilbin!

Check out @wesphilbin blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

GREAT POST!!!

Thank you for publishing it to our community feed!
Compliments of the PHC founder @jaynie...

We have tweeted, upvoted and reblogged it for you.

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER