Thoughts about Hive & Why We're Always Bad at Marketing Ourselves

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

social_hive_dark_watermark.jpg

Recently I've been so caught up with another platform which I've written in my yesterday's post regarding how we can market HIVE to the crypto space. Truth be told, a lot of people even in the crypto space do not actually know HIVE when I talked to them about it and that is pretty sad. It means that if we were to want to hit an all time high, it is not going to happen anytime soon.

There are plenty of ways to market HIVE and we've always talked about it even when the businessman bought over steemit, we were hopeful that this would be the chance but once we've been given this chance, we always let things slipped away.


I've approached a few projects on HIVE asking if they would like to LIST their projects for more exposure to the crypto world, and the first thing that came to their mind was, 'Isn't this platform, Torum, more like a competitor'?

Unfortunately, this is the mindset that a lot of Hivers have, being overprotective, mustn't benefit our 'competitors' and the whole freedom of speech thing which will in the end bite us back in the ass because if we start excluding everything then everything will exclude us. Just like not being invited to a party when all your other friends are being invited.

I mean just look at this, within a few days of marketing HIVE on another platform, non-Hivers are already promoting HIVE themselves and these are just a few.

image.png

image.png

image.png


I'm all for collaboration

image.png
Photo by John Schnobrich on Unsplash

I know I've said this many times, that we lived in an era of collaboration. Being in the advertising industry and creative industry for some time, many projects of today wants to collaborate rather than saying 'this is my turf'. True enough, the results were far more remarkable than doing it yourself. Imagine if we can leverage platforms on one another, use each other's expertise and resources and we both get what we want for our projects. Isn't that much better than? We'll find our own way?

I know that we all have our ego about HIVE, that it is the best blockchain ever made but is it worth it that only we know about it? We limit ourselves. Then there's this whole other thing about harassing people who are promoting Hive more than most of us ever do but I won't get into that.

All I'm saying here is that we have to wake up before it's too late, getting excluded from all the crypto talks, crypto seminars, crypto exclusive lounges because we're all here always swinging our own wands. This is my opinion when I started to look at why people do not know what HIVE is and when I've started to push for HIVE marketing myself.

Let's try not to let more opportunities slip by, I'm still hopeful for HIVE. :)

Thank You

If you like what I do, check out my other posts on meetups, animation, and designs.

Get your Personalized HIVE Profile Signatures

DM me on discord : zord189#7776

Isaac by yuna.jpg

Credits to @yunayuna for this portrait



Sort:  

I am a marketer and I've worked with blockchain companies too and I've noticed the community is oftentimes directionless. It's sad to say but marketing is a top-down approach to success. Having a marketing team of channel experts to focus on a certain channel and design campaigns and messaging and then using the community to amplify it is how you gain success and reach.

Bitcoin didn't need marketing, yes its its own thing. Let's take out the blockchain element for a second and think of it as a social media site. Facebook, Twitter, Twitch, YouTube, Tumblr, SnapChat, Instagram, TikTok all spend millions if not 100s of millions to gain users, and have strategies in place for each market.

I'm not saying community action doesn't work, it does, all I'm saying is having a team that gives the community ideas and an arsenal to fire off with their network effect is vastly more powerful

Well said, @zord189. Collaboration is the way to go. This world is huge and there's enough for everyone. Why be so stupid as to not have a piece of a pie rather than none at all? Also, if one wants to grow something, the worst thing one can do is to dis it (and its members) on a public platform. Besides being rude and mean, it's head-bangingly stupid. Also, different people have different motivations for joining. Their motivation for staying may differ. So, again, don't dis what people are doing when they know how to "hook" people in their own circles.

Sorry, I'm having a rant having had my own little altercation having commented on @haveysguides post on Twitter.

Enjoy the rest of your Sunday!

Thank you for your support. We will be working for a new payout scheme for you soon. Keep your chins up and stay tune!

I just don't think enough people here understand Marketing vs. Advertising ... And there has never been a clear vision or mission.

I think most the whales are more focused on price than project... and it shows.

Agreed, but for most large investors, the price is important. The problem is a lot of people seem to be too rushed for the price to increase. It will increase, so wait unless you are happy with 23 cents. Or do 50-50.
In the meantime, we need development and sooner or later proper coherent marketing. I want to wait until SMT is released because that is our promise that hasn't been delivered and should have been quite some time ago.

I was thinking about the elusive SMT just yesterday. lol

Which is sad, because these all relates back to the price. :/ Unless everyone is just happy with 0.23usd per Hive.

Totally agree @zord189.
We have always been talking about this, collaboration, not competition; unless we want to turn HIVE into armish kind of off-grid zone and sing kumbaya.

Yea, which is what we are pretty much doing now. Oh well..

When the majority in power thinks in that way. Then we just do what we can, starting from local.

That's why teammalaysia was there the first place.

Yeaps, we can only do so much.

Marketing tools vs Advertising the way I see it are different, marketing department obtaining new markets (banks, taxi, shopping, teaching) to move crypto through creating supply and demand. Advertising people with correct procedural tools to use, literally singing the same tune, rely on their masses to spread the word out to attract signups via blogging, infographics, video training, all part of advertising..

What’s holding back a large majority of people from entering this space is the perceived complexities of onboarding. Right now, it is those who understand the inner workings of cryptocurrency technology that are reaping the benefits of its value. New users should not be excluded just because they lack the awareness of how to access more than one form of finance. CoinTelegraph

@tipu curate

Thanks for the detailed description on both. I feel we're overprotective over this chain and it's not doing anyone good or perhaps people don't really want Hive adopted but only for themselves

Definitely, and I will look into your suggestion when I touch base again. Currently having power outages, lock down more strict, with a sister and sister-in-law at home alone whom I keep daily contact with.... Time is a constant!

This is really interesting and confirms a lot about what I said here
https://hive.blog/hive-126009/@mistakili/could-hive-be-the-safer-choice-for-smart-contracts

Little did i even know that it sparsed across marketing.

I hope more attention is paid to this valuable contribution

Cheers mate

Well said Zord!

Case in point, I've just started my Havey's Guides series as I've been around the music industry for 10 years and know the raw deal musicians and music fans are getting. So I'm coming at it from a outside viewpoint using language that my peers understand, none of this crypto lingo, and trying to bring more eyes and users in.

What happens? The first tweet I do sharing the blog post and one of the co-founders (I believe) of one of Hive's biggest curation guilds comes along and shits all over it and I get DMs from peers asking "what's up with that?" and it puts people off.

Makes you wonder sometimes hey...

Thanks to @joanstewart for sharing this post on Twitter, where I saw it.

Fundamentally you have put forward an excellent proposition, using layman's terms for vast majority to understand. Blockchain is open free thinking ideas on making blockchain technology be more acceptable to those who fear the unknown.

Keep going @nickyhavey and @zord189 no single entity owns the space this is mutual ground to grow fresh ideas and ideology for all who hunger change. Backing developers running the first tier needs ideas as to how to get out of the station onboarding more people.

Being slightly older school, having no musical or artistic talents I enjoy supporting, seeing a mushrooming affect in thinking blockchain.

Thanks a lot Joan, I appreciate the support and saw your reply on Twitter 💪

Sometimes I need a little nudge to get reaction, today is normally a time to catch up on what I missed during the week, appears there is a lot. Good luck motivating musicians onto blockchain.

Good luck motivating musicians onto blockchain.

Think it will need a lot of luck now!

And that is what is exactly have been happening for all these years since Steem times. It's funny we crave so much for HIVE being known to the world but it seems we are not ready for it. Btw, you can come take a look at Torum in my previous post and maybe if you want, you can create your Hive music community project there. People will definitely start looking at Hive with many talents as well.

I don't think it's a question of being ready for it anymore, I think it's a case that some don't really want it known to the world - more pie for them and as you said, protecting that pie.

I'll bookmark your Torum post and check it out later on 🙂

Yea...

Okay, let me know if u need verification, I need to let the team know because the phone verification is still buggy.

Bitcoin never had a Marketing team.

We as a community to take ownership and spread $HIVE vibes wherever and whenever we can.

Like Splinterlands we need other dApp founders go out of their way to promote our $HIVE

I truly believe we as community taking more ownership and Sky is the limit