Sort:  

Very nice @abitcoinskeptic. It is amazing how far your garden has progressed for this time of year. This much growth in one month?! Wow ...

Love the detail about the need to walk, to even get to your garden. And, along the way, the opportunity to visit with like-minded people. Sounds very encouraging, as I would assume there cannot be a lot of people doing this, given the population density there.

Bummer to hear about the deep water line leak the owner cannot fix until the growing season is over. Life is full of these unplanned challenges. Sounds like you have come up with as best a work-around as can be managed.

We spend a lot of time in our garden. It is still a peaceful place where we can pretend a bit that we have some influence over what is happening there vs. the insanity of far too much of the "new normal / post-COVID" world around us ...

Looking forward to reading more, as your growing season progresses. You do a great job of publishing these!

P.S. Part-timer ... So ... Glad to have seen this one, as I love gardening ...

May and June tend to be the explosive gardening months here.

I find a lot people who have small gardens, but I'm in the hobby. I really like my location this year. I'm tempted to buy a plot to own it permanently.

A lot of the really older generation grew up farming and they garden in marginal areas and all the hills surrounding the city. But you are right the majority of people live in large urban areas and are clueless if their grocery delivery app fails.

I also think being outdoors in my private space is good during this epidemic. It's very relaxing in general, especially after a stressful day at work.

I hope you have a good growing season too. The more I do it the more I learn.

Very good to hear @abitcoinskeptic ...

"I really like my location this year. I'm tempted to buy a plot to own it permanently."

... as there is something "ancient" about owning your own little part of "the good earth." And tending to it. We most definitely agree it is very good for our souls to be out "playing in the dirt" ... 😉

We count ourselves blessed here, with our own little patch. We are in the very early stages of getting plants up and growing, given our growing zone is much higher up than where you live.

I really envy you garden and all the space! Your harvest will feed so many people, I'm sure your family and neighbours love you. How much time do you spend in it each week?

Everyone who gets fresh produce loves me, and most of my gardening neighbours like me because I don't cause trouble.

I drop by 3x a week to water and that takes about 15-+20 minutes. I spend about an hour a week on the weekend to do the maintenance like pruning and weeding.
All in it takes me about 2 hours a week. My wife probably puts in about an hour too. It's worth it because we enjoy it, great for relieving stress.

3x a week? Do you have a sprinkler as well? 😲

ahh also once on the weekend when pruning. Weather takes care of it occasionallt. Once settled in plants can go 2 or 3 days without water, especially if it is partly cloudy and humid.

I once rented a plot with a sprinkler it was great. If I buy ky own land I will automate that chore and only stop by once or twice a week.

Wow! That's really looking good. Sorry to hear you lost the peppers and onions.

Those cabbages look huge!

Those are cheap enough to buy. My biggest failure was not getting ghose peppers to sprout. I guess the seeds I saved were infertile since I had trouble just getting them to grow at all in this climate.

The cabbages are starting to ball up which means they will be ready soon.

I'm not sure why but cabbage (napa and green) tend to be my specialty. Maybe I loose 1 in 10, but usually it happens in the first week because of magpies.

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @rehan12 and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

Thank you kindly.

Very nice! I'm envious of your work.

upvote

thanks♡♡♡

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated by @sajannair on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on PEAKD.com and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thank you kindly ~

Congratulations @abitcoinskeptic! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 8000 comments. Your next target is to reach 8500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Project Activity Update
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Great idea growing in container type structure holding prepared soil in, you always win some and lose some depending on weather conditions.

Garden is looking good, planting additional crops now before end of season should still have enough time to grow to fruition.

I think I can still do very well. I don't mind losing some to spoilage. I don't really like planting new things in June ~ August as they don't tend to do well because just one hot day can kill anything that isn't established. But I can plant a fall round in September.

Any food grown by yourself is a bonus today. Prepare for the next season.

That's such an awesome system to be able to rent a piece of land for gardening and that you'll be abke to feed many! Sure your trench will solve the problem. Nothing like harvesting fresh veggies for cooking not so!

Beautiful!

I wanna grow everything!

Thank you Kindly!