New stove and milk barter

in Homesteading2 years ago

Finally, we bought a wood-burning stove. I have already written that I have been using electric heating since the construction of the house, which has been a couple of years. This is convenient, but not always reliable. There are all sorts of accidents in the power grid.

0.jpg

Not often, but there are. Last year, during a storm, electricity was cut off for almost the whole day.

For such cases, I have a generator, but it will not pull the work with heaters. Besides, I have a lot of free firewood, so it's a sin not to use it. So I decided to switch the house to stove heating, and use electricity as an auxiliary, for example at night.

1.jpg

The stove was bought quite simple, but with one feature - an elongated receiver. I want to put it in such a way that the furnace opens and loads from the street. I have lived for several years in a house with stove heating and it turned out to be a little dirty - firewood, ash.

In addition, a couple of times there were cases when the reverse thrust opened the furnace door and the smoke poured into the room. If you make the door to the furnace from the outside, you can avoid these unpleasant moments. But that's later.

First of all, it was necessary to carry out the first heating of the furnace on the street, which I did. I loaded the oven to the maximum and allowed the firewood to burn out

2.jpg

While the stove was burning, I started another barter. We periodically have excess milk, even after making cheese.
And my neighbor is a beekeeper and he has excess honey. So we exchanged milk for honeycombs.

3.jpg

The neighbor did not have time to add frames to the hive and the bees pulled the honeycomb with honey right on the wooden partition. He can't put such a partition in a honey pot, but can change it for milk.

It's good to have good neighbors. With some, you can exchange eggs for grain, with others milk for honey, and with others you can exchange chickens to update the livestock.

Sort:  

I love your stuff! This is super cool :)

Here where it gets down to -25F and windy, I'd not want to be going out several times a day to load the stove. Nor in a snowstorm. I just deal with the mess.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @astrizak.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more