Pickling, hay, porch and tons of apples

in Homesteading2 years ago

There have been so many deeds lately that I just don't have time to document everything. Assemble it there, build it here. Moreover, the heat does not add enthusiasm.

But anyway, I finished the roof for the porch.

1.jpg

I connected the rafters with lintels for greater rigidity of the structure and laid polycarbonate on top.

2.jpg

The rafters turned out to be a little short, but now it's not critical, I'll build them up a little later and finish the end bar. The main thing is that there is a roof and I can do other things.

I spent a whole week collecting hay. It's not easy to assemble an entire field by myself and manually, but I managed.

0.jpg

I shoved hay in all corners, I hope there is enough stock for the goats for the winter. Last winter we bought 2 bales of hay and it turned out to be not enough, I really want it to be enough this time.

In addition to hay, I continue to collect apples. There are just tons of them.

4.jpg

Every day I collect a bucket and dry them in the dryer. Two dryers work around the clock. The apples this year are just great.

5.jpg

Pickling of cucumbers has also begun.

3.jpg

Usually we pickle them whole, but this year I was a little late with the harvest (literally for a day) and the cucumbers outgrew so that they did not fit in cans, so we decided to try to pickle them in pieces, and for the slices to remain crisp, we added a little oak leaves (there is a folk recipe). Let's see what happens.

Sort:  

Grape leaves will also keep them crisp. I can't imagine harvesting a field of hay all by hand....That's why mine are all still standing.

Thanks for the advice, I'll make the next batch of cucumbers with a grape leaves, I just have some grapes