You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Learning to use my new sawmill

in Homesteading2 years ago

This is badass dude! Love the look of it, I'm sure it works like a dream.

It's funny, I didn't think about nails in the tree until you hit one. I first thought it was a bullet but I know people do all kinds of stuff to trees so a nail isn't surprising.

A metal detector sounds like a fun build, I wonder how you'd get that accomplished. I don't know enough about electronics to think of how to do it but would be cool to learn!

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited) 

A lot of kids have lived at this property over the decades, and built a LOT of tree forts in the trees.

The metal detector is a pretty easy build, if I remember right... one of those things that electronics magazines used to have as a 'starter project'. Basically, a few loops of wire, an oscillator, and an amplifier. I was thinking that it could probably wait until next winter, but all the talk about it now has me kind of excited to get it built!

Yeah true, we built our own fair share of tree forts back in the day! Was a lot of fun lol and we built them pretty high. Our best one was in a crab apple tree, had 2 floors and a lookout post. We threw crab apples on unsuspecting passers by lol

One of my first was in a crab apple tree. I actually have a crab apple on the property that I should have cut down by now, but I keep trying to nurse it back to life because it reminds me of that tree. My best one was in a spruce, and it made my momma cry just to look at it. I couldn't tell you how much stuff my brothers and I hauled up that tree... I know at the end it looked more like an Ewok village than a tree house!