Grain Run, Turkey Butchering, Seeds, Weeding - Sunday

in Homesteading11 months ago

Yesterday morning I was in town later than normal and I swung by the one brewery to see if there might be barrels and I found there was 3 partials. I emptied one into the two on the trailer then headed for the other brewery.

IMG_20230528_061040_HDR.jpg

They had an issue with the batch so a few of the barrels were like soup and really hard to move. I moved the 2 drier barrels first which gave me a spot to shovel a bit of the soup to make it a bit easier to move them.

IMG_20230528_061618_HDR.jpg
IMG_20230528_061629_HDR.jpg

One barrel in the bed and the rest on the trailer made for quite a heavy load.

IMG_20230528_062632_HDR.jpg

I dumped it all right when I got home and just got the trailer as far into the muck as I could. The barrels tipped over the side of the trailer and the soupy ones poured out all at once. The trailer got parked then after a bit I got the scalding pot filled on on to heat as it takes a while.

IMG_20230528_082407_HDR.jpg

It was about 10am when I chose the first tom to butcher. Dude was huge and heavy. We also got a turkey in the oven that was in the freezer for dinner. It cooked for much of the day.

IMG_20230528_101707_HDR.jpg
IMG_20230528_101712_HDR.jpg

Slit the neck and bled him out while he hung then once he had stopped moving we dropped it into the scalding pot with the water at about 165F. It took a little bit but the feathers came out nicely. I used the plucker to get a bunch of the feathers off to reduce the amount of hand plucking that we needed to do.

IMG_20230528_102214_HDR.jpg
IMG_20230528_102916_HDR.jpg

Inside it went to the table for cutting up. We weighed the tom and it was 45 pounds after bleeding and plucking.

IMG_20230528_112655_HDR.jpg

ONE BREAST weighed over 7 POUNDS!!!! Incredible how huge the toms get. The breasts got sliced down into steaks and smaller pieces which we put on the freeze dryer trays which then went to the freezer so the pieces don't freeze into a giant block. Today they will get bagged and put in the other freezer.

IMG_20230528_112819_HDR.jpg

While @stryeyz worked on the turkey I got some seeds in the row in the greenhouse. I am trying it to see if I can get any of the lettuce to pop, I have a few in the row but not many that did sprout from the original planting.

IMG_20230528_115547_HDR.jpg

After the first tom was done and we had eaten lunch I had to go find the toms and corral the next one. The first was a broad breasted bronze and this one was one of the Mexican broad breasted. He was a tiny bit smaller than the first but not by much. I got him bled out and then into the scalding pot he went.

IMG_20230528_145156_HDR.jpg
IMG_20230528_145651_HDR.jpg

The feathers come off really well with the plucker. There is no way that anyone with the tub style pluckers can manage a turkey this big, only the freestanding plucker is able to handle them. The turkey went to the house where @stryeyz broke it down to pieces. Filled more trays of breast meat in the freezer and got the rest all bagged and in the other freezer.

IMG_20230528_150254_HDR.jpg

The poor gooseberries have been inundated with grasses so I took the time to work on pulling a bunch. There is so much and it is so tangled in the roots it is a major pain in the ass. I have to figure out how to get it all up then I can lay down some plastic to hopefully help deal with it.

IMG_20230528_155226_HDR.jpg

The animals were super happy to have the fresh grass to munch.

IMG_20230528_161911_HDR.jpg

Soaking was really nice on my super sore back muscles.

IMG_20230528_193952_HDR.jpg

Today I hope to get a flight in if possible at Saltese as the winds look favorable for it. Still have a ton of weedeating to get done, and not sure what else at the moment.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^

High Liquidity, NO KYC Exchange


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv

Capture.JPG


FFF Runic.png

Sort:  

https://leofinance.io/threads/flemingfarm/re-leothreads-dox9gwuk
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( flemingfarm ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

This bird looks good and big 🤗👌👌👌🧅🧄🍅🥔🥕🌽🍗🍗🍗🍗🍗🍗🍗

The toms are way too big but I can't help but love the 5+ lb breasts they provide.

Good :)) to me it looks i can all week eat it :))

Damn a 45 lb turkey is huge..

The great thing with turkeys is the toms are never aggressive like roosters can be. I'll take a 45 lb gentle bird over a 5 lb aggressive one any day.

Enjoyment things on point
I love that!!!

It's a tough balance between the work and the play.

Here too, when all the people gather at one place, they cut the native chicken and cook it and eat it in the same way. Especially in summer when we go inside the village to bathe.

We had a gooseberry bush for several years. It got all choked up with grass, too, and we finally gave up and pulled the whole thing out. I sometimes miss the berries, though.

Busy day with those 2 toms. They were huge!