Soil Mix, Misc Tasks, Kiting Paraglider, Bugs, Weeds, Handle - Monday

in Homesteading10 months ago

On my way back from dumping the butcher bucket yesterday morning I saw this yellow salsify blooming by the gate. We have them all over the farm growing wild so their bulbs never get really big. I have seed saved from some that I really should try growing in the garden on irrigation to see if they would produce larger bulbs.

IMG_20230529_092209_HDR.jpg

I have plants that need to be potted up but I had not finished my soil mix so I had to fill the wheelbarrow with another load of dirt then I was able to get the mix turned really well to incorporate it.

IMG_20230529_100450_HDR.jpg

It took a ton if turning with the shovel and the pitchfork to get it mixed well but it turned out quite nice. I filled my tray with it which is a good spot for it for now.

IMG_20230529_101332_HDR.jpg

The bees had drained their syrup so I got another batch mixed up and back in the hive before they all had taken off for the day.

IMG_20230529_102737_HDR.jpg

The soil I made got used for potting up the spider plant first. It has needed a new pot for a long time so now it will likely really take off. I noticed all my little citrus plants and the avocados are loving the greenhouse and they all have a bunch of new growth on them.

IMG_20230529_103103_HDR.jpg

The temps are going to be pretty consistent now so I put a timer on the fans. 10am to 5pm is about the worst of the heat and for now this works to semi-automate the process.

IMG_20230529_103109_HDR.jpg

We headed up to the lake so I could do some more ground handling with my wing. I don't now what it is but as soon as I laid the wing out the winds died. I got a half hour of sort of kiting in. The winds were really shitty in that it would gust a bit then the wind would switch direction and the wing would go crazy.

IMG_20230529_112907_HDR.jpg
IMG_20230529_112938_HDR.jpg
IMG_20230529_112942_HDR.jpg
IMG_20230529_113856_HDR.jpg
IMG_20230529_113908_HDR.jpg
IMG_20230529_115930_HDR.jpg

I had enough after half an hour as I was hot, thirsty, and hungry and the winds were still not working with me. I laid out the wing to fold it but when I did the thing got covered in bugs of various kinds. Both IN the wing and on it. I bundled my wing loosely then as soon as we got home I pulled it out again and hung it on the clothes line so I could remove all the bugs.

IMG_20230529_123112_HDR.jpg

I had to go cell by cell and work all the bugs down to the open end. It took me a while to get them all out and I got the vast majority. There were still a tiny number of them as I folded the wing backup but I did not see any grasshoppers which are my big worry as they can easily chew through the fabric.

IMG_20230529_123956_HDR.jpg

The animals pounced on the grass I pulled from the garden by the rhubarb. Just one of the many areas that need to be cut or pulled.

IMG_20230529_174549_HDR.jpg

The Tardis has been a pain in the ass to open the door on with both latches needing to be worked o get it closed or open. I spent time removing the one handle bar so it is much easier for us to open and close.

IMG_20230529_174559_HDR.jpg

Weedeating is the task for today as the farm is getting overgrown.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^

High Liquidity, NO KYC Exchange


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv

Capture.JPG


FFF Runic.png

Sort:  

https://leofinance.io/threads/flemingfarm/re-leothreads-pufilupo
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( flemingfarm ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

I myself plant the plants in my garden in this way and then take care of them by watering them on time and then they grow well. If they are not taken care of, they get spoiled.

You have indeed got beautiful plants
You took the pictures well too

Too bad the winds messed with you. I'd hoped it would be a good flight.