Cool Dark Day - September 11, 2022 @goldenoakfarm

in Homesteading2 years ago

Remedy series crop Sept. 2022.jpg

As this series’ episodes become available at 9PM, I don’t get to watch them until the next day. I try to be in bed before 9PM. So I watch them for a while in the early morning before I really get started. The one for Sunday was about Lyme disease. I’ve made in excess of 10 pages of notes altogether so far…

Drought Sept. 2022.jpg

Even though we got 6” of rain here last week, we are still considered to in critical drought. No one told the grass and weeds.

Wood area weeds crop Sept. 2022.jpg

I still can’t mow this area because it’s never been cleaned up enough. Last week when it rained the vegetation was sparse and only ankle high. Now it’s over knee high. My son has to weedwack it down again.

All the apples crop Sept. 2022.jpg

That meant I HAD to mow the lawn and up at the barn. I’d not mowed in 3 weeks because nothing was growing. I reserve Sunday mornings for mowing if I have to do it.

But before I could mow I had to pick up the apples that had fallen. There were more in the Big garden I didn’t bother with and critters have eaten some, so maybe all told, I got a full bucket off the whole tree. Big change from when I was giving away pickup truck loads and bags and bags from the same tree. Ahhh, drought….

Mowing done crop Sept. 2022.jpg

The grass was really high in shaded places and wet with dew. I can’t wait until it dries off, especially when it’s a dark cool day as Sunday was, because I really only have energy in the mornings. So that meant a lot of plugged up mower cleaning.

I started with the push mower for trim as I always do, and when the bag filled up, I must stop the mower to empty it. Over the course of the summer it’s been harder and harder to start once shut off. And on Sunday, would not start at all. My tenant looked at it and thinks the little primer button is just pushing air. So I have to order a repair kit and he will replace it. So no push mower work was done.

I got the rider going and did as good a job as I could with that, but there’s going to be an awful lot of real tall grass on edges of things. I’ll have to get my son to knock down what he can with the weedwacker. It started to sprinkle by the time I made it up to the barn, so more wet grass. So I didn’t spend an hour or more pushing the mower around but it still took me 3 hours with the rider.

I spent the rest of the afternoon in my chair or at the computer transcribing my series notes so they are legible.

Monday is laundry, another cool day, but I think after the weekend I had, I should go easy. When Tom and I walked back from burying the cat, I saw the back pasture fences are down and there’s a LOT of downed branches. These must be picked up before the hay man comes. So that will be Tuesday’s job, and maybe Wednesday’s and maybe Thursday’s…

Sort:  

Wow! A lot of weeds and tall grasses after the rain! I need a good lawn mower too!

Everything is perfect, gardening there are many plants that are a necessity there!