Garden Work and Harvest - August 5, 2022 @goldenoakfarm

in Homesteading2 years ago

New Herb - labels up mostly crop August 2022.jpg

On Friday morning I went out before breakfast and got started. I got all but 13 of the label stakes in the New Herb garden put in. Then I collected the things I’d need and went to the Big garden to tie up tomatoes.

Big garden - tomatoes tied up crop August 2022.jpg

I got the suckers cut off and fortunately I hadn’t waited too long to do the job. I only lost a few tiny tomatoes. They are doing well this year so far, for being put in so late.

Tomatoes - eating crop August 2022.jpg

My backup helper showed up unexpectedly so I put her to work. She did a lot of weeding throughout the Big garden. My helper friend was here and he got the foliar and the milk spray done. I harvested all the kohlrabi, the last of the broccoli, some cukes, an artichoke, and 3 zucchinis. I lasted until 9:30; it was the humidity more than heat.

Friday's harvest - kohlrabi, brocolli, cukes, artichoke crop August 2022.jpg

After a shower and cooling down and some breakfast, I got my backup helper started on the things I’d harvested. She’d decided to work inside where it was slightly cooler.

The kohlrabi have been being steadily gnawed on by something. I suspect the groundhog from last year is again climbing the gate. We just cut away the gnawed bits and then peeled them.

The broccoli had been planted well after the first ones I had processed a couple weeks back. The stress of all the time in the cold frame, plus late planting, plus drought took its toll. There were plenty of cabbage worms to take out of these 3 heads. I’d found less than 15 in the entire row when I did broccoli the first time.

The cukes had half a dozen that had gotten too old but these were okay. One of the zucchinis had gotten really big and my helper friend took it home. I kept the other 2 for zoodles for lunches. And the biggest artichoke was ready to harvest.

Kohlrabi for blanching crop August 2022.jpg

My backup helper worked on the kohlrabi, peeling and chunking it while I got out the freezer containers and got set up for processing. We both did the broccoli and then it was time for her to go.

Brocolli - last harvest crop August 2022.jpg

I got all the kohlrabi and broccoli processed and cleaned up the mess. It wasn’t as nasty hot in the kitchen as it had been on Thursday.

Brocolli and kohlrabi for freezer crop August 2022.jpg

I got four 1½ pints of broccoli and 9 pints of kohlrabi. I finished about 1:30 and I napped and watched movies all the rest of the afternoon.

On Saturday I have to get out early and pick the green beans as they have come in again. It’s to be very hot and humid so I hope to finish by noon with the processing. I also have to weigh up garlic as I have 3 customers coming who want some.

Sort:  

Nice to see that your tomatoes are growing beautifully. Been planting tomotoes in our garden too. Thanks for sharing this post.

We also have the same gardens and plantings here, many gardens that are an inspiration for the whole day and a source of income. :)

Isn't it so satisfying when you finally get to start harvesting and preserving all your hard work? I have been busy canning a lot of the paste tomatoes this week and fermenting cabbage too. I am afraid we are both going to be very busy until fall, lol.

Yup, we sure are!

I've never been able to grow broccoli

Wow! Your garden looks amazing! Puts mine to shame lol hopefully going to get a plan together for next year as It totally slipped me this year. I don't wan to make that mistake again. Beautiful harvest!