Pasture Clean-up - September 12 - 14, 2022 @goldenoakfarm

in Homesteading2 years ago

The deluge1 crop Sept. 2022.jpg

On Monday I took it easy and just did laundry and watch the Remedy series. On Tuesday it rained much of the day. I puttered around and transcribed my notes from the Remedy series.

The deluge3 crop Sept. 2022.jpg

We got some serious deluges and blowing wind in the afternoon on Tuesday.

Rain guage - 1.5 inch crop Sept. 2022.jpg

The rain gauge registered 1.5” for Tuesday. But we are still considered in a drought.

Cold frame crop Sept. 2022.jpg

I haven’t been out in the gardens much for the last couple weeks and I still have all these plants that never got planted.

Middle pasture - fences done crop Sept. 2022.jpg

The work repairing fences and cleaning up the fallen branches hadn’t gotten done as I asked, so on Wednesday at 7:30AM I went out and got started by myself. I did the back pasture first because it was biggest and the worst mess.

Then I did the middle pasture (above) and about this time Tom came out looking for me, as I hadn’t appeared when he showed up at 8:30. I got this one done as it wasn’t so bad and moved onto the front pasture. I finished about 11AM and was exhausted.

I was carrying the heavy fencing bucket with tools and supplies, 2 coils of wire, and had walked the whole 8½ acres, bending to pick up branches for about half of it.

Big garden - artichokes crop Sept. 2022.jpg

In the Big garden I am having the best artichoke year ever. At any one time there are 10+ chokes out there and they get harvested by the half or whole dozen.

I slept for about 4 hours on Wednesday and then I had to watch Episode 8 of Remedy before it went off the air at 9PM. I got 14 pages of notes from that one; it took 5.5 hours to watch when taking notes.

Big garden - nasturtiums1 crop Sept. 2022.jpg

The nasturtiums in the Big garden are loving all the rain and are beautiful.

Big garden - nasturtiums2 crop Sept. 2022.jpg

I planted 2 different varieties.

Anne raspberries crop Sept. 2022.jpg

The Anne raspberries are prolific this year, now the rain has come. I go out every other day and eat my fill of them.

Big garden - snapdragons crop Sept. 2022.jpg

I had deadheaded the snapdragons in the Big garden a few weeks ago and they are blooming again.

Big garden - cleome crop Sept. 2022.jpg

The cleome are very pretty now, lots of blooms.

Big garden - tomatoes crop Sept. 2022.jpg

The tomatoes hadn’t come in at a timely pace due to drought and I’ve got as many jars of spaghetti sauce and ketchup and boxes of tomato soup as I need. They are finally ripening, even though the vines were hit by late blight. I will have to give them away really soon.

Big garden - Swiss chard crop Sept. 2022.jpg

This is also one of the best years for the Swiss chard. Very little bug pressure and no disease.

Wildflower area crop Sept. 2022.jpg

In the wildflower area this is the part I was mowing the grass down. The rest of the area is mostly dead yarrow and foliage from the coreopsis. There’s one New England aster flowering and the yellow flowers on the plant in the foreground, and goldenrod, of course.

Rabbit crop Sept. 2022.jpg

I am surprised we still have 2 or 3 bunnies left from this year’s crop. I see them most days in the yard.

Late on Wednesday night the hayman called and said he’d be haying the pastures on Thursday. Good thing I had gone out and gotten them all done in the morning.

On Thursday my helper friend’s wife is coming to fill in as a garden helper. We are going to tackle flowerbeds.

Sort:  

That’s a big rabbit is rather big and healthy! The plants look refreshed after the rain.
It rains here like crazy too.

Your plants are looking so good. They're just blossoming. You take good care of them very well and you deserve a bountiful harvest. Thank God everything is going well. Thanks for sharing

Everything looks awesome on the farm. So much work for you, yet, you seem to keep it all working well. Congrats on a great season and big harvests.