Sort:  

The wheels with the levers is something I had originally meant to try on this one, and may in the future. I don't have a problem with the wheels and axles bearing the weight... the entire weight of this chicken tractor is under 60 lbs.

One thing I like about the smaller diameter wheels is that with them, I don't need a floor in the chicken tractor. The space at the bottom isn't enough for them to get out, even when I'm moving it, and when it's on flat ground I leave the wheels in place.

When I do the repairs on the old chicken tractor, I will probably set up a wheel system for that more like you have in the link above. The wheels on the new chicken tractor came from the old one, but they were definitely too small for the old one, and practically useless on it. The old one weighs a LOT more, though, close to 200 lbs, and it would push those little wheels right into the mud.

We found the airless fat tires to be the best in high grass and mud. The ones with air rot out pretty quickly and go flat. But neither are cheap. :((

I've managed to salvage some airless wheelbarrow tires over the years that I'm hoping will do the trick. I'm definitely using airless, I've found that having a soft tire on these slopes can be disastrous!