Apocalyptic Homesteading (Day 680)

in Homesteading2 years ago

Hello Everyone!

Making an early start, Watching the hurricane, Looming bad weather, More storm prep & Some eerily quiet wildlife!

I awoke rather early this morning just before sunrise and could not ignore how chilly that it was when I let the dogs out. Although, I find the change of seasons to be refreshing and quite welcome after the hot summer I have to admit that I rapidly ducked back indoors to grab a sweater before I caught a chill.

This morning I broke my 'no news before noon' rule and tuned in to what is going on with that monster of a storm that is churning in the Gulf of Mexico and whoa it is looking like folks in that area are in for a rough ride. Having watched (and been through) so many storms of that nature when I lived further south... all that I can really say about this one is: I hope folks stay safe!

While I was looking at the weather forecast (for the area I am in far from that storm) I could not help but notice that there is an alert for increased fire danger in this area along with strong wind warnings. There was a bunch of technical reasons given for the hazardous conditions but my sleepy brain cannot quite recall them all.

Basically it (the increased fire danger) is the result of that storm from the south pushing warm air north and said air interacting with cold air from the north in such a way that it is causing a massive drop in humidity and increased wind speeds. Since we will probably start getting rain from that big storm at some point later today it should not be that big of a deal (sans any lightning) but I am going to 'keep my eyes peeled' and 'my nose sharp' for any signs of fire.

Alright, it is now a little before sunset and although I fed all the critters way earlier than usual... I am still pressed for time here at the day's end and not feeling incredibly inclined to do any writing. Alas though, here I am yet again clacking away at this keyboard and spelling out my ponderous thoughts like I have done many times before!

My brain is a bit worn out at this point because I spent way too much time today glued to the news cycle watching that massive hurricane as it made landfall. Not to turn tragedy into entertainment but whoa having been through many a hurricane in my life and knowing how fierce the elements can be... what a storm to watch!

I did not exactly spend all day being fixated on watching the storm but it was pretty close to all day! I will more than likely keep watching it once I finish my writing and posting routine especially given the number of folks that I know who have been or will be impacted by it to one degree or another.

Since later this week there is a good chance that the same storm will hit where I am at... I figured that doing some more storm prep was not all that bad of an idea! Mainly I focused on filling up more water containers and going through the process of (yet again) making sure all my devices are fully charged in case the grid goes down.

It is worth mentioning that dog of mine that is sensitive to the weather has been acting pretty weird the last few days and by 'weird' I mean showing all the signs that there is severe weather on the way. Based on her behaviors I would say it is a pretty bad storm approaching which could either be the outer bands of that hurricane... that we will begin getting hit by anytime now... or it is the storm itself and given her track record it is well within the norm for her to sense something that far away!

Anyway, the winds here today had some strong gusts to them for much of the day and were intensifying as it grew dark but the real 'tell all' is just how quiet the wildlife have become. Usually I hear and see a lot of birds and squirrels throughout the day but today it was eerily quiet so I guess the wild critters are also sensing the impending change of weather.

Of course with all the wind the leaves have been falling from the trees like crazy and now it is starting to look like I am really going to have my work cut out for me with getting them all raked up and deposited on the compost mounds. Also there is even more color changes (with the leaves in general) happening so I guess that between that and the chilly nights and mornings... autumn is in full swing here!

Well, I think I am going to call this entry 'good enough' and get on with the editing and posting part of things. I hope that everyone is doing well and has a nice day/night.

IMG_20220928_183611.jpg

She finally stood still long enough that I could get a new picture.

IMG_20220928_183524.jpg

This is probably the clearest that the sky will be for the next few days!

Thanks for reading!

woodbanner.png

Please check out the Homesteading Community:
https://peakd.com/c/hive-114308/created

Homesteading Resources:
https://peakd.com/hive-114308/@jacobpeacock/homesteading-resources

Want to join Hive?
Sign Up Via My Referral Below!
https://peakd.com/register?ref=jacobpeacock

hive-banner.png

That Is All For Now!

Cheers! & Hive On!

Sort:  

We are starting to get the actual winds from it, we have been getting squalls until now. It is kicking ass out there. 47mph and climbing. We moved our trucks to the middle of the yard. The only thing that I am worried about is the wind will be south and that is the side where all of the trees are at, they could fall on our trailer.

I hope no trees fell on your home last night! The damage in many areas looks rather extensive. That was a lot of rain and storm surge.

We did not get much rain last night, it was the night before when we got it. Nothing fell here except the plants in pots. We did not even lose power. It is bad on the west coast. It is now a hurricane again.

That is good to hear. Yeah, the west coast got hammered. Yup, I saw it is a hurricane again like I thought it would be. It is slowly crawling this way and the outer bands are already here.