I Made This Traditional Medicinal Juice Today, Here Are Some Of Its Health Benefits

in Homesteading2 years ago

Hello everyone in the wonderful homesteading community. I hope you are all doing well. For the past seven days, the weather over here has been very cold. Due to the cold weather, I’m unable to go out to my farmland to check my crops in the mornings, so for the past 1 week, I’ve been checking my farmland in the evenings. I hope the weather is nice wherever you are.

Have you ever wondered how our forefathers survived without adequate access to drugs? Have you ever thought of how they got rid of illnesses and wounds? In the past, our ancestors had no idea about things like vaccines, therapies, or injections, so what trick did they use? Naturally, wounds heal on their own after some, but after getting to know the importance of leaves, herbs, roots, and some other natural things, they started to use them to their own advantage.

Growing up, my mum wasn’t a fan of herbs or leaves. In fact, she hated them. Probably because she is a nurse and her father also trained her that way. A few years ago, my mum changed her mindset when she attended a seminar. I was surprised the first day she came and told us why we should consume less sugar and eat bitter leaves so it would flush our system.

In this article, I’ll talk about how I made bitter leaf and scent leaf juice. I’ll also talk about the health benefits of drinking bitter leaf and scent leaf juice.

To be very honest, I hated bitter leaf, even when my mom added it to her soup. I know most people also hate it because it is very bitter. But this morning, I read about It and tried it. Although it was very bitter and I didn’t like the taste, I’m happy I tried it for the first time.

Scent leaf is also known as “Efinrin” in the western part of Nigeria. The Igbos call it “Nshianwu” while the Hausas call it “Daidoya”. Asides from using it for cooking, the Scent leaf is very useful because it serves as a traditional medicine for getting rid of illnesses like cold, fever, cough, etc.

Bitter leaf is also a useful plant that helps get rid of a lot of illnesses. Now, imagine mixing the two leaves, wouldn’t that be so wonderful? I know it would be very bitter, but trust me when I say it is loaded with a lot of sweet benefits. Learn how to not take sweet things every time. Sometimes you need to take a break from sweet things like smoothies, cakes, ice creams, cookies, and fast foods.

How to prepare a bitter leaf and scent leaf juice

Of course, you have to get some things ready before preparing the juice. The things you need are; water, bitter leaves, a blender(optional), and a bowl. The interesting thing about this is that you can get them around you. I didn’t even know I had scent leaf close to my garden, not until I checked a few days ago.

The first step is to pluck out your bitter leaf and scent leaf and wash them thoroughly. Please note that it is very important to wash thoroughly.

The second step is to put them in a blender. In my case, I used my hands to extract the water. The last step is to pour the mixture into a mesh strainer and serve.

Very easy, right?
Now, let’s take a look at the health benefits.

Weight loss

There are fake people out there selling fake drugs to get rid of belly fat or to lose weight, why bother yourself when you can just make yours at home? Daily use of bitter leaf and scent leaf juice can help reduce excess calories in your body.

Helps treat abdominal issues

One of the importance of bitter leaf and scent leaf juice is that it helps to get rid of abdominal issues like stomach pain, diarrhea, dysentery, etc.

The mixture also helps to get rid of illnesses like malaria. My neighbor’s dad is a very healthy-looking man. And the surprising thing about him is that he doesn’t use drugs. Neither does he take injections. He treats himself traditionally.

Sort:  

Well-done bro, atimes it is good if we make use of our traditional antibiotics but we shouldn't also neglect the modern options available to us. Because the world is technology driven this days

Yes. You're right. Some of the drugs today are harmful to our body.

Thanks for stopping by.

You are welcome

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Wow these is such an insightful post you've got here, am happy I came across these, thanks for sharing.

Thanks for stopping by and for your amazing comment.

Saint leaf is good medicinal plants. I usually use it when I have running stomach. Thanks for the knowledge.