Groundnut is almost ready for harvest.

in Homesteading2 years ago

Hello Hive.

1_20220920_221025_0000.png

Alot of challenges comes with multi cropping, some times all these crops will be calling your attention to come remove weed or do other stuff for different crop and at the same time. Such is the challenges we are currently facing.
Tomorrow I will be checking on the rice farm to see if weed is taking over or not. Both groundnut and rice field needs our attention.

Though I haven't keep up with a regular post for the growth stages of most of my crops growing in the farm, there is alot to be done like I said earlier and keeping track of everything is a whole lot of task.
Further more I have been combining my farm work and oneajor current training am undergoing but training has to give way for this important harvest task now.
Harvest is more important unless I want our grains to go bad.

IMG_20220909_121239_928.jpg


IMG_20220909_121158_682.jpg

The groundnut journey.

Our groundnut seeds were planted in the month of May, although the best planting time for groundnut in the north is March, but in Kwara, May is more favorable because of a moderate rainfall.

We cleared weeds and made ridges than went ahead to plant two grains per hole about side by side with only a feet distance difference between each hole.

IMG_20220909_120647_659.jpg

Working on the farm always gets my countenance like this. Stress is no mans friend but the fruit of it is sweet therefore we try as much to endure the discomfort for the final result it will produce.

IMG_20220909_120629_478.jpg


IMG_20220909_120612_762.jpg

Flowering begins exactly a month after planting, that is first flower.

Groundnut usually produce two set of flowers before maturity.

Weeding was mechanically done by hired workers since we were busy with beans ridges and corn harvest.

Groundnut maturity...

The sign of maturity is this yellowing of leaves after about 4months of planting.

IMG_20220909_120624_002.jpg


IMG_20220909_120626_356.jpg

Once you have it yellow like this, next thing is to check the pods and seeds for proper sign of maturity.
If the pods aren't fully ripe, we leave it for another two weeks, pull up another pont then check again or give it another two weeks.

IMG_20220909_121239_928.jpg

Not all the pods will be fully riped in the end so harvest can commence when it is 80% of the pods ripe.

We did check about two weeks ago and hopefully harvest will commence soon.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @monica-ene ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Pictures are so detailed🥹, this is really nice. This time I’m certainly coming for my share once the harvest is due😂

😆😆😆😃😃👯👯👯💃💃💃💃...

Please come ooo
I can't eat it alone...

😂😂 thank you so much

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 124 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
14

Peanuts... :)

Hello @monica-ene. How are you doing ?. Indeed farming can be really stressful and tasking but the fruits of ones labour is always sweet. I can see you planted maize and groundnut. We plant maize and groundnut almost every year too but the last time we planted groundnuts, it seems like something was coming to remove them from the soil and eatthem so I would like to ask, how do you make sure non of such things happens in your farm ? and what could possible be eating or stopping our seeds from growing ?.

Thanks for sharing. I really liked your post. Please I will be needing some groundnut after you harvest. I hope we're friends and you can send some to me. I stay in portharcourt

Immediately I saw groundnut, I rushed to read it because of my love for this seed. How I wish, I could visit to get my own share.

😃😃😃😆🤓...

I can imagine.
Everyone loves groundnut. Except for the pimples it causes which am not sure if that is true

I love groundnut o😀😀. Lots of people say that it causes pimples because it contains too much oil but I don't have pimples on my face. I use to believe is cause I have a dry skin but regardless I don't believe it causes pimples.

My first time seeing combination of two crops in one field.
You see, where I live, we only plant one type of crop in one field.
This makes me curious that I would like to know if there are any advantages of combining two crops in one field over focusing only on one type of crop in a single field?

!1UP


1UP-PIZZA.png

You have received a 1UP from @thecuriousfool!

The @oneup-cartel will soon upvote you with:
@leo-curator, @ctp-curator, @bee-curator, @vyb-curator, @pob-curator, @neoxag-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕.

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the Cartel on Discord.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@curation-cartel(18/20) tipped @monica-ene (x1)

Join us in Discord!