You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Building a new chicken tractor

in Homesteading2 years ago

What a great post! My grandad had these on the farm when I was a kid, mostly in the orchard for keeping the brooding hens and chicks safe until they grew up. I never knew it was called a chicken tractor! Possibly not in the UK as I just heard them referred to as 'runs' but you're never too old to learn!

One we thing we do have a name for in the UK is the wire mesh, which surprisingly or not is commonly called 'chicken wire'! Makes sense!

Great post, the result looks fantastic and best wishes :-)

Sort:  

I'm always fascinated with the differences in language from place to place...

Here in the US, we call it a 'run' when it's a fenced in area that doesn't move. We also have chicken wire, but only use that term for the stuff with the hexagonal holes in it.

Thanks for the well wishes, happy I could take you on a little trip down memory lane!

No thank you, I come to read and this style of post is exactly what I enjoy reading. I love what you're doing there and wish you nothing but success and happiness :-)