My 1st Homesteading Post - Starting in the City - 1st Winter With Ducks and Chickens

I got my first 4 chickens for my backyard homesteading experience this August and since then have also procured 2 ducks as well. This is my first of what I hope to be weekly updates on what is happening with the urban homestead and documenting the transition to a rural homestead this summer. Maybe some people will be able to learn from the mistakes I inevitable will make.

20220102_082720.jpg

I started with feeding the chickens and then ducks when I got them with non-gmo feed from Kaniksu feed in Deer Park, WA. My goal is to eventually have these and future birds in the flock to be fairly self sustainable. I don't want to have to be buying extra food for my birds basically. Back in the day when times were tough people didn't have resources to feed specialty foods to their backyard birds. I hope to follow suit with this.

20220102_083358.jpg

Right before the real cold started here in northeastern Washington I decided to slowly stop feeding the Kaniksu laying pellets to them and start supplementing their diet with something I made from what we already have. I realize since they can't fly and they are somewhat trapped in my backyard they may not have access to all that they need because of lack of the ability to truly roam over widespread areas. I started with making bread from the bread maker I have using older flower that I won't use for my fresh baked goods anymore. I will continue to make some bread for them as the ducks especially seem to like it. I use the left over whey from the goat milk I get weekly to bake in the break or just feed them directly as a drink. Of course with the freezing weather I give it them in smaller doses so it doesn't freeze.

20220102_082747.jpg

I have also started giving them dried fruits that I don't like or need to be used up. I put a mix of dried plums, apples and walnuts in a processor and then chop them up fine while also mixing them up. Then I also have been cooking some green lentils as well. They seem to prefer green lentils over yellow split peas so far. Soon I will try sprouting some of these things and seeing how they like that.

Untitled-3.jpg

Especially since they can't fly and it's really cold limiting their ability to forage I feel its important to give them something extra. It hard to find food when it's cold out, even I want to just hibernate. So far the experiment seems to be going well. They are all acting fairly normal given the cold weather and seem to be enjoying their new food. I haven't given them any extra heat to keep warm and make sure I try to clear ice out of the water they use in the morning and then afternoon. Right now there are no eggs being laid but I think the extreme cold and less daytime has a lot to do with that as well. Soon I may add a light to the coop to provide longer light and see if that encourages them to start laying again. I'm trying to make sure they are getting all the nutrients they need to lay as well. I guess time and trial and error will tell.

Untitled-2.jpg

Support Questionable Authority and Independent Journalism with Cryptocurrency or fiat currency

Pirate Chain(ARRR) - zs1txwcrkpzuxk9qscf993xpwxa59ryng3mqajfcu6hs988ety6r8enxutku5a7pgk8npr3q8mcz2y
Monero - 876CskHzzPL1d1npiYMUk5dGyLS5zo5swSn6SmhcHBvdH1GsQqMdxzwMxKTU27eZyZAjdjRxVDZQRZprsNcqDuzA6AHf6NH
BitCoin - 34LMmp4Pc2kQuRKmBCqhakD7EZudVsNY3S
Ethereum - 0x08aac07654b5f74eb7d3be80e369d2db5bfd2bfc
PayPal
Venmo
Cash App - $QuestionableAuth

Follow me on Flote.App to catch all my posts.

This is the place I will share video's, blogs, etc. It will be the one stop shop for all things QA from here on out. I will also be doing all of my Livestreams from here on out on Flote.App so come join me on a censorship free blockchain based social media app for everyone!

Join Library/Odysee and earn crypto for yourself and support QA by clicking here and creating an account.

QA Now available on "Activism News Network" on ROKU!

Commercial free access and exclusive content from this channel and over 20 other activist channels for $3.99/month. Follow the links below to get more infor and sign up. No censorship on this ROKU channel.
Activism News Network website
Sign up for the channel on ROKU $3.99/month

Check out the QA Merchandise shop here! Support us and show your love for freedom at the same time:

Click here for Spreadshirt store
Click here for TeeSpring store

Find QA everywhere online!

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Here is your Proof of Brian. I think you meant #ProofOfBrain
Brian
Source