You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The journey of Homesteading | Meet my Quails!

in Homesteadinglast year

I guess ignorance really is bliss XD I was having a massive stress about something a few weeks ago and a friend of mine (who has very little knowledge of what I was stressing over) kind of stared in horrified fascination at me while I explained why the thing was stressing me out and then delivered that line to me (prior to me having the mini meltdown she was just watching the thing that I was stressing over olike oh yeh that's cool XD).

Yay for eggs! I kind of wanted to get some quails because there's a couple of dishes and pretty much all salads where boiled quail eggs are the perfect size.

J vetoed it because we'd have to do another enclosure and quail eggs are adorably teeny XD

Do the quails have a run? That cage seems very small for the number you have :S

We have a small flock of chickens (currently five, J wants to get more) and get eggs every day (I think one of them is laying every day and the rest is every couple of days but they are all doing it on different days).

Good luck with finding out what's affecting your egg production and with the veges when you start them :D

Sort:  

Definitely, ignorance is bliss as long as things don't affect you directly, which is why most people don't care about what narrative is being pushed and the agendas behind apparently harmless government moves...

Ahahaha yeah, quail eggs are extremely tiny, I think 3-4 make up one chicken egg so yeah, but the upside is that they lay eggs almost daily so there's that, tell J to reconsider!

I wasn't aware chickens lay every day, after some research I was under the understanding they lay 0.5 eggs per day which made me think twice about it cause we consume 4 eggs per day so 8 chickens sound like a lot for a rookie homesteader like me haha, maybe after I get enough experience with the quails I'll take that next step :)

I'm planning to build them a fence so they can run around during the day, but you should see how the breeders keep quails, damn it is sad and one of the things that make me hate the 3rd world practices... around 20 quails per cage (size like mine) and they don't let them out ever :(

hich is why most people don't care about what narrative is being pushed and the agendas behind apparently harmless government moves

Aaargh right?!

I'm not frustrated by this in the slightest XD

It's not just third world practises, "first world" places have some appalling conditions too >_< (I consider factory farms appalling no matter how "clean" and "within regulations" they are)

I was asking J for chicken breeds for you to look at and he pointed out that we might not have the same availability for chicken breeds x_x but basically if you wanted daily egg production look into the factory farming breeds, they will lay daily but are generally a bit more fragile and shorter lived. If you want low maintenance, look into "heritage breeds", some might lay daily and some will lay every couple of days, but they're generally tougher (both longer lived, longer egg production, long as they have a run or can free range they can scratch around for bugs and stuff and you should just be able to feed them kitchen scraps and only buy chicken food if you know you're going to be short on kitchen scraps or just want to boost the nutrition).

Least you won't need a huge run for quails as they're so tiny XD I probably don't need to remind you to make it completely enclosed but I'm going to say it anyway so I feel better :D