You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Keeping the sawmill fed

in Homesteading2 years ago

Oh I'm coming to this post a little late! I loved reading it though. And I have to eead your other posts on setting up the sawmill and all that

We just got ours and I'm excited to get started with it.

2 hours to move a log!!! Yeah that's what I've been wondering about... we have a tractor with which we can pull trees close to the mill, but than I have to build ramps too... Following you for sure now! And I'm in NY too bh the way.

Sort:  

If you can get them close to the mill quickly, they usually load onto the mill pretty fast. My problem is that my terrain is too steep to be able to use a tractor to drag the logs with. I'm hoping to pick up an electric winch soon that will significantly decrease my time for moving these logs.

You may also want to check out @thebigsweed, another sawyer in NY with some very informative posts.

Yes, I was thinking of a winch too, as I have some downed ash at the bottom and the sides of a valley I don't have tractor access to. Brought it up to a rigger friend of mine and we just couldn't figure out if it would be strong enough because we don't know the approximate weight of an ash tree!!! But I want to try with a massive one for sure.

Thanks for the suggestion on another New Yorker sawyer!

Just realized I'm already following @thebigsweed