Harvesting and Canning the Gardens Produce - by Sunscape

in Homesteading4 years ago

canning harvesting.jpg


The gardens are almost finished producing and I have been up to my neck in produce for the past two weeks. Preserving everything I grew this year, except the apples, of course, those I purchase from our local growers right at the farmstands.

The green, orange, and red peppers are all cut up and frozen into quart bags. I would say we put up about 24 quarts in all. The rest went into making tomato and pizza sauce.

Our raspberries are putting on a nice second flush along with it being blackberry season now. So yesterday was jam making day even though some of our bushes are still putting out berries. I had enough picked for a double batch and I was so pleased as the grandkids love my berry jams.

The hot peppers went wild this year and wowza, there are some seriously hot ones. I think I will have to skip growing some of them as they are too hot for us to handle. They even burnt my skin through the gloves, now that says something. Yikes.

With all the tomato plants finally finishing I was glad to be done making sauce every few days. I am considering scaling back my gardens even more next year as there is only my husband and myself now to feed and I still grow enough for a large family.

Below are a few photos of what I have been up to this past two weeks after taking a break from making the fall soap line. I hope all the fellow gardeners out in cyberland had a marvelous harvest this year. Enjoy the fruits of your labor this winter, I know we will.


canning tomato and pizza sauce.jpg

The Marconi Peppers were beautiful this year and oh so tasty which made my sauce extra good.

canning tomato sauce and pepper.jpg


Cayenne Peppers and Red Jalapeno's combined with my beautiful San Marzano tomatoes made a very nice hot sauce with just the right amount of kick.

canning blackberry jam.jpg

Our berry bushes were absolutely loaded this year compared to last. We were pleased with the amount of jam we got. We had to net our blackberry bushes for the first time this year as the Bluejay family discovered the luscious gems.

canning applesauce.jpg


Finally, the applesauce is almost done. We still have a 1/2 bushel to do yet but I am taking a break for a couple of days. Between my 3 grandkids and husband, I am not sure who eats more. Thus, a bushel and a half of apples are canned every fall. The smiles on the little ones faces when I drop off all the goodies is just priceless, and so worth the effort.

That's it for today, my friends. I hope you enjoyed the harvesting and canning post and now you know why I have not been around too much lately. ;-)

Until next time, this is Sunscape

Sun. Scape. Ing your day

Sunscapes Soap Shop on Etsy
Website - Sunscapes Soap Shop
Etsy Store - Crystal Vibrations

Sort:  

Those hot peppers look amazing. I'm sure my husband would love them - the hotter the better is one of his mottos :) It looks like you had a wonderful harvest this year. Congratulations and thank you for sharing!

I did have a great harvest this year even though I did not think I would. It has kept me very busy preserving. The hot sauce came out really nice, but I have had it so hot that I could not eat it. lol

All look amazing my dear 😍😍😍😍

Congratulations @sunscape! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 4 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Update for regular authors

Thank you very much, I totally forgot about my birthday on here.

How can you forget about your birthday @sunscape 😉
Well, that's why we are here for to remember you!
Happy Hive Birthday my friend! We hope you had a nice little celebration! Thanks for sticking around for so long!
Cheers, The Hivebuzz Team

I thank you for reminding me. I have been so busy lately that the months are flying by like lightning. ;-)

You're welcome @sunscape
BTW, we are missing your witness vote 😢
Do you mind to support us back and cast it to our witness? It would be really appreciated.
You will get one more badge and more powerful upvotes from us on your posts with your next notifications.

It looks like your garden did well this year!
I think I didn't plant enough tomato plants this year, my harvest was not as much as I had wanted.

I have some years like that. I do plant way too much and am going to scale back next season. It seemed like I was canning forever this summer. For two of us it lasts a long time.

I know that feeling. Several years ago, I canned a bit more than 100 pints of green beans. I don't know what I was thinking...
It took 3 years to finally eat the last of them...

Oh my, that is a lot of beans!!! But it is worth the effort but I am getting tired of the constant workload. Less produce next year for sure.

Love the way you collaged the photos of each item. Nice job! Everything you made looks wonderful. :))

Awe, that is so sweet of you to say. Thank you! It has been a crazy few weeks as I am sure you know.

Hi @sunscape, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rehan12!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

Thank you very much.