Cassava Processing: One Major Food In Nigeria

in Homesteading2 years ago



cl8j218sa01uf2gkcd4gwguu2_IMG_20220926_152228.webp
cl8j21cp101sg14kc3gf1axk3_IMG_20220926_152605.webp
cl8j21hc501s424kc3m7eh2ty_IMG_20220926_152607.webp
cl8j21ms701uh2gkc6uo7a988_IMG_20220926_152610.webp
cl8j21s1801si14kc81u4h44k_IMG_20220926_152246.webp
cl8j21xoe01s624kcd0chamv7_IMG_20220926_152248.webp

Today was really stressful, I wasn't expecting it to be so. Was relaxing when I got a call from much to come over and help out with what she was doing and I forgot to ask what it was untill I reach there and was surprised when I saw a lot of cassava that need to be processed into Garri which is one major food in Nigeria apart from Rice. It is made from processed cassava which can be turned into lot of things.

I was happy I met them peeled because it will be a lot of stress sitting down all day peeling cassava, I remembered when I was young, mum will went to the farm, bring lot of sack home full of cassava and we have to sit all day to peel it because she had to turn most of it to cassava flour and the one we cant peel that day will be use to make garri instead, cant stop laughing because most of us do run away and at times receive punishment for not helping out. Today was somehow different, been a while I engage in this kind of thing so I had to join them in washing the peeled cassava, then we call the grinder to bring the grinding machine. Grinding it was somehow stressful because we had to keep bending to pick up the cassava and also the man was careful so as to avoid any form of accident.

After grinding, they have to put it in sacks and place it on the pressing machine to drain the water out before before frying it. Lot of process to pass through.


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

Wow, this is great as it reminds me of how I and my grandmother used to grind our cassava after harvesting and piling. In truth, Garri is among the recognized meal in Africa because we consider it as the strength of the strong.

My problem with Garri is that it's selective for people who can eat because of the nature of their health. Come to think of it, those suffering from an ulcer, diabetes, or Happattise B are advised to stay off from eating Garri until they become normal.

Another problem why I personally hate eating Garri is because a lot of people through science believe
eves that Garri can make one go blind in the future because of its too much starch content.

Nice write-up, I enjoy the delicacy we make our of cassava both gari and fufu.