CNC Down

in CNC2 years ago

20220303_184807.jpg

Well, my CNC router has been down nearly a week. Today's the day I (hopefully) get it back up and running.

The old laptop I was using to run the router was not in the greatest of shape. It took nearly 45 mins to get the thing to boot up before I could even think of opening the CNC software to control anything. During my last carve - one that had been already going for 10 hours - the computer crashed and I was left with a half carved piece of oak.

It's such a shame because otherwise the project was going flawlessly.

Since I recently bought a new laptop, I was planning on putting my old desktop out in the garage to control the router, but had been putting it off because it was still cold out there and not pleasant enough to be sorting that out. I had to build a shelf under the CNC table for it and tidy up some wires before I introduced more.

The crashing of the laptop was enough for me to get things moving on that, but of course I ran into some issues.

Setting up the computer went well. I was able to mount the monitor behind the router table and ran all the wires neatly to the computer I put on a freshly installed shelf under the table.

Turned the computer on, got the internet going by plugging in to a WIFI extender I had out there anyway, and installed the CNC software to control the router. All no problem.

Turn the CNC on, click connect on the program, and....

NOTHING

Turns out I'm having some driver issues and that's where it's been all week.

If I can get things communicating properly, I may still be able to save the half finished carve as long as I can line everything up properly. Worst case scenario is I'm out the 30 bucks for the wood and it's all considered a learning experience.

I'm just finishing my coffee now before I get started and thought I should write a little bit. But I'd better stop procrastinating and get at it.

Wish me luck!