@nealmcspadden AMAA

in AskMe3 years ago

Hi, I'm Neal, and you can ask me almost anything.

Most people around Hive know me as the spreadsheets guy, and that's certainly true. I'm an active crypto investor, MSPWaves host (2 shows!), run my tax planning & preparation business, operate a small real estate investment fund, and work with my wife to raise our two kids.

You probably don't know that over the years I've done lots of other things. I've been in the Oval Office and shook hands with two Presidents, I raise chickens and quail, I used to be really active in the paleo/keto and prepper communities, I tutored high school kids for 13 years and taught in the classroom for about 3 months, I used to be a bartender & bar manager, I have a degree in Electrical Engineering from a top engineering school, and plenty more I'm sure I'm forgetting.

I'm a pretty open book, but some things I can't answer like specific tax and investment advice. I can give general ideas, but you'd need to hire me to get specific answers about your particular situation. Nothing herein will be considered legal, accounting, or investment advice.

So ask me almost anything!

Sort:  

Being an EE have you ever been electrocuted?

lol many times

What was the inspiration to your recent HDF proposal?

What prompted you to submit it?

 3 years ago (edited) 

Super solid question.
edit: also , subscribe to the community you knob head!😀

This is a harder question that it sounds like.

I've said for a long time that Hive (and Steem before it) has the best technology in crypto. I've also said that the tokenomics are terrible. And we can see the history of the price relative to other cryptos to see that is the case.

DeFi has come along and blown up over the last few months and has created a way to actually generate real income from crypto. I'm using the same kind of approach in my own life and my own businesses to add yield to otherwise idle money.

So I see the DHF proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/157 - go vote for it now!) as a way to at least bring some kind of external value into the hive ecosystem.

To me, that is the Hive whale's biggest failure, they are too focused on buidling, buidling, buidling in some sort of quixotic buidl-it-and-they-will-come quest and not focused enough on bring some kind of demographic into Hive.

How are your Hens doing and how many eggs a day are you currently getting?

They're doing pretty great. I got 7 4-week old Buff Orpingtons back at the end of May 2020. So they are almost a year old now.

1 escaped and was promptly eaten by something.

The remaining 6 are doing well and are laying 4-5 eggs a day now that it's winter. I'm thinking about expanding the flock because even at 5 or 6 eggs a day, I don't get eat many.

What do you think about PROJECT BLANK?

I'm excited for it. I chat way more on Discord than I post on Hive, and I've been saying for years (on Discord) that we should chat on chain. Project Blank will be something like that and I expect it to be very active. Khal has done an amazing job leading the LeoFinance community and I expect that to continue.

At the same time, it creates an on-ramp for external users to come into the Hive ecosystem. "Twitter on blockchain" can appeal to the crypto-twitter crowd, and "(almost) uncensorable twitter" can appeal to the cancelled crowd.

I always said too that we need to also chat on-chain as well. I think project blank is the tie breaker as well. Thanks for your prospectsful acessement.

Is there a drink you really hated making as a bartender? and whats your favorite drink to make?

Favorite drink to make was a zipperhead. It's a layered highball. If I remember right it was raspberry liquer, vodka, and then sprite on top. (Checking google some people make it with soda water). Very tasty, a bit of a show, and fucks people up.

Drinks I hated making was the long island iced tea. Because it goes like this:

"I want a long island iced tea."

"OK, a long island has 2 drinks worth of alcohol in it, so it's double the price of one."

"OK."

<go off to make drink, come back with drink>

"OK, that'll be $10" (this was early 2000s)

"What?!?! Why so much!?!"

"Because it has 2 drinks of alcohol in it. Like I told you before."

Some people paid, some people stormed off. Annoying.

Do you have your HAM? Callsign?

First, thanks for doing the AMA! 😀

Do you find yourself doing the occupation you want to do? If you had a choice to be anything in the world what would it be?

Heh, I actually love doing taxes. People think I'm nuts, but there it is.

If I could do absolutely anything though, it'd be to have a large permaculture farm that was productive enough to be commercially successful.

Don't forget to sub on the community 😀

If you could could ask one question about anything in the world and be guaranteed a 100% accurate answer, what would that question be?

Why are we here?

I’d love to know that myself. Also always wondered how were we created. The human body is such an amazing creation. Although with their issues.