Sort:  

I didn't buy much Hive. I was very active on Reddit for many years and very early on I decided to focus on manual curation and engagement, for the first year I barely even posted which would've helped grow my stake quite a lot. I kept working on the "long term", eventually someone wanted to reward my commitment and energy with a delegation which I decided to use to max efficiency for distributing it fair and wide - OCD was created to help me with that. I guess over time keeping things fair, not maximizing during all the different rules this blockchain has had gave me a better reputation and more trust of other stakeholders wanting to continue delegate to my projects knowing I'll be using it well for the long term health of this platform.

Good answer :) - One thing I've learned over here -- is that the fairer you are to people, the more you earn as a by-product. It's a theory I had but was never able to test out until one of my whale friends gave me a massive delegation. Guess I was lucky :)

I wish I could say that even without delegations I would've used Hive the same as I have, in a couple months it'll be 5 years of manual curation and I'm sure you know the ROI I've given up because of that. Many keep saying that if they had a delegation they'd also not maximize but on the other hand there's others who say they would to make the most out of it while they can. I have a big respect for those who don't have a lot of stake and still kept things fair over the years. In my mind ROI won't matter much in the long term, unless you really, really like money and having as much as possible of it. I'd prefer to just do okay later on and not have to worry about it while my reputation here and future source of income is priceless.

Ah, man, you're so right. When Steem came along for me right at the beginning I was cashing out like a mofo. Dumb move. Guess I needed the money at the time. Now? I'm stacking and compounding as hard as I can and not caring about the price right now.

I was telling my guys over in the cave, stack now, enjoy later -- and you could imagine the shit I've taken for it over the last year. Now their tunes have changed.

It's not even that high right now. I can see Hive being like gold dust in the future. So I'm still compounding, still stacking even if they think I'm whack. They'll thank me later lol