What do you know about ring worms?

in MED-HIVElast year (edited)

You woke up one morning and your skin is itchy, reddish, and scaly. That could be a fungal infection called "Ringworm".

1674802947832.jpg
Source

I couldn't get a perfect picture for it, so I made do with this.

It is a circular rash that leaves your skin patched and scaly. In my country, the Yoruba dialect calls this infection (Lapa-Lapa)😁

Ringworms aren't found only on the skin, they could be found on the scalp too.

It doesn't matter how neat you are, certain things might cause ringworm because it is a fungus in nature. However, poor hygiene increases your chances of having this skin infection.

It's either you have touched an infected animal or object.
You might have shaken or hugged someone with the infection, or your immune system is poor or you've used an infected public utility.

But are there treatments for this skin infection?
The good news is that there are cures for it.
Proper hygiene is one way to mitigate your chances of contracting this infection, using antifungal cream to apply on the affected area.

In my country, I've seen people scratching the surface of this rash for it to bleed, thereby applying treatments on it while the wounds are open to ensure it gets right into the body.
Whatever is been used to scratch the surface is thrown away asap because it can affect another area if used again.

Exposure to sunlight
Most fungal infections do not love sunlight, sunlight is a gift of nature so why not utilize it if you notice this fungal infection on your skin?

Avoid sharing personal items
It's funny how people still share personal items like; towels, socks, and bedspreads, the owners might be a carrier, and sharing these items keeps you at high risk of contracting this skin infection.
Always wash your towel at least once a week and spread them where they get enough air and sunlight, including your underwear and clothing.

1674803211576.jpg
Source

Avoid sharing combs too, ringworm could be found on the scalp, get an anti-dandruff cream and wash your hair often.

Eat right
Eating good food that will boost your immune system, and a good diet has been known to keep skin infections at bay. How much do you consume fruits? Fruits rich in vitamin c (orange, cherry) all of these could help to fight that skin infection.

Moisturize your skin
Dry skin could cause a lot of skin infections, always moisturize your skin to leave it radiant and glowing.

Try as much as possible to avoid excessive sweating, and bathe regularly too.

There is a natural therapy for this infection.

The use of garlic has been known to treat ringworm too.
When you peel the clove and grind it and then apply the juice on the affected area, it helps the healing process as garlic is known for its antifungal properties. (This is my natural therapy that works, what works for me might not work for you.)

And ensure you see your healthcare provider for proper diagnosis and treatment.

This is an entry for this week's prompt on #med-hive.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @amiegeoffrey ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

This is why I am scared giving out my items to other people. In fact, I don't because of things like this.

I am always too conscious of my health and scared of any infections happening. So, I try my best to avoid such by having proper hygiene, washing my clothes and towels at the right time and keep things clean around me.
Thanks for sharing this.

Yeah, I do not share my personal belongings as well, down to my earpiece, I'm so careful. Thanks for reading my post.

For that earpiece, some think I am selfish but they don't know one has to be careful sharing things pertaining to your body use because it could be risky.

Honestly...I am so possessed with my and selfish with my belongings. I don't ever share them at all! Like please don't ask me for anything I have because I won't release any for you. I think the last time I ever contacted ringworm, I was angry with my skin to the extent I gave the ringworm a harsh welcome.

I had to place a razor close to the fire burning from the stive, I allowed it to be heated and red in color then I use it to scrap off the surface of the infectious ezema after that I cleaned it with warm water and apply ink on it, hehe! Since then I have never seen it on my body and at same time I was being careful.

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below


Hey @cescajove, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

We must stay careful but people see it as being selfish.

I don't share personal belongings at all, I don't want to get infected.

Thanks for stopping by.

Hello Medhiver @amiegeoffrey thank you for your commitment to our community. We are very happy that you are always actively participating in our initiatives, contributing and sharing your experiences on the topic of the moment.

This time you bring to the discussion a very common skin condition worldwide and that is important to socialize, if we refer to a dermatophytosis caused by a fungus of the genus Tinea spp. producer of the clinical condition called Ringworm in its different variants. In your publication you mention Tinea corporis.

To be honest, the image you managed to get is not a condition caused by Tinea spp, however we appreciate your effort and interest.

I include a scientific article, in which you can deepen and strengthen the knowledge for this clinical condition, it includes images of the pathology:

Leung AKC, Lam JM, Leong KF, Hon KL. Tinea corporis: an updated review. Drugs in Context. .[Internet]. 2020 [quoted 2023 Jan.]; 9(5-6):1-12. Available at

It is important to stress the importance of prevention and how highly contagious this infectious agent is. So maintain hygiene and do not share your personal items. Treating ringworm can take time and money in pharmaceuticals, so we recommend you to be cautious.

Until another time.
Happy week to you and yours.

I stated there, that I couldn't get a perfect picture but I'll make do with it.

Thanks for visiting my blog. The picture I saw which was perfect for it couldn't be used because it had a watermark so I couldn't use it.

I'm so glad I'm clean never have it before this lapa-lapa hehe.

Hahaha, you're sounding like a Yoruba man now🤣

Haha well everything is possible my dear friend hehe

It's good that you talk of natural ways to cure as opposed to defaulting to pharmaceuticals.

Sat Nam

Some free Hive-engine tokens for you:
!PGM !PIZZA !LOL
!LUV

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS tokens to @atma.love

remaining commands 14

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Thank you for visiting my blog.

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@atma.love(2/15) tipped @amiegeoffrey (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza!

 last year  

Thanks for these few thos you share to avoid and care for ring worm infections.

Congratulations! You have won 50 ecency points!

Thank you for participating in this HEALTH WEEKLY DISCUSSION. The MED-HIVE community is grateful for your contribution on our primary goal of bringing health awareness to Hive.

We hope to grow more with your help and support!

Please consider supporting the med-hive community by subscribing and joining our Discord Channel. You can also go the extra mile and follow our voting trail, give this comment an upvote or even make HP delegations to the @med-hive account using the links bellow

100HP|250HP|500HP|1000HP

INTRA-COMMUNITY BANNER (2).png

Use Ecency! Did you know you can earn Ecency Points just for your regular Hive activity such as posting, doing comments, and upvotes? Use those points to boost and promote your or others’ hivers posts. You can even tip your favourite authors directly! How cool is that?!

It is a sad truth that this is actually very transmissible from person to person through sharing of personal items. Thanks for sharing.