Biphasic Sleeping Schedule? - It's a healthy lifestyle for creatives.

in MED-HIVE2 years ago (edited)

The title of this post suggests that we will be dabbling around a topic that is related to health. Let's set the room right before I dive into today's talking point. Okay?

So, I don't snore while sleeping and I don't sleep-walk. In a broad sense, I've got no disruptive sleeping disorder.

In other words, yours truly (talking about me) is in a good position to say a thing or two about a sleeping pattern that can be explored by us.

20220914_224008_0000.png

This sleeping pattern I will be sharing will allow you to always get a decent amount of sleep and still maximize your performance when you are awake.

For the record, I'm writing this as a part of an unspecified amount of entries I will be making to this month's prompt that was presented by @med-hive community. It may be the only entry I will make, but if time permits, I will like to make more before the month runs out.


The backstory of my sleeping pattern.

I'm a normal lad who wants to hit it big in whatever I'm doing. I genuinely believe that effort begets success and that is why I spend an awful lot of time doing things that will set me on the path to a blazing future.

When I was a University student, I burnt my night candles like crazy. When I worked in a commercial bank, I spent so much time on the job. Now that I'm exploring the idea of being a content Creator, it became obvious to me that I've formed a habit which looks cool at face value, but this same 'cool habit' will end up messing up my health when I get older.

Can you imagine the habit I'm talking about?

pexels-photo-6624297~2.jpeg

Nope, it's not an excessive intake of alcohol. I've never had a taste of alcohol since my birth. It's also not drug abuse, gambling or womanizing. I don't do any of those. The whole problem was my 'cool sleeping pattern'.

Don't make a mistake about this. It's nothing you've never heard of before. For example,

  • How many of you get up to 4 hours of sleep per day?

  • Do you even sleep at all?

You see, if we are being true to ourselves, so many people do not get a decent amount of sleep per day. I, for one, was always guilty as charged. I wake up by 6am and go to bed around 3 or 4am. Imagine that.

I'm not going to say you need 8 hours of sleep per day and I'm not going to cajole you for not sleeping as much as necessary. I believe some variables come into play in this.

So, what I will do is tell you the difference I'm experiencing since I decided to tweak my sleeping pattern. And then, I will allow you to choose what is right for you.


The rebirth of a new sleeping Patten;

One thing you need to know about me and the way I approach my health is that I'm in the category of people that likes to taste 'the thing' to know if it's poop or chocolate.

Even if I read a million article that warns about the danger of not getting enough sleep, I will never feel like adjusting my old pattern until I start getting signals that 'this is no longer good for me. The signal came two months ago.

I noticed that my mind was losing focus and I usually wake up with a migraine after being awake for 21 hours straight only to squeeze in 2-3 hours of sleep. When this whole thing started to affect my creativity...,

garbage-3259455_640.jpg
...I knew that it was time to try something new.

I tried a bunch of things until I decided to try sleeping twice a day. This is the exact thing that worked so well for me.

What I always do is carry on with my activities until 7/8pm before forcing myself to sleep for just two hours or 2.5 hours. After that short sleep, I wake up feeling more energetic and refreshed. Then, I wash up with cold water and eat any fruit at my disposal before getting back to my creative activities.

Once I'm back on the seat, I can gladly do my work from 11/12pm until 4 or 5am before calling it a day. As usual, without forcing myself with an alarm clock or stuff like that, I tend to sleep for 2-3 hours before waking up to face the new day properly.

I was genuinely surprised the first couple of times I tried this because I started noticing that my mind was working better and I was always agile round the clock. Even as I'm typing this, I've already slept the first round and woke up to do a couple of things before finally sleeping again.


Sleeping twice in a day; Is this what they call Biphasic Sleeping Schedule?


This is where I will like to mention @beeber and @balikis95 so they can finally get to see what I mean whenever I talk about Biphasic Sleeping Schedule.

For the record, I was doing this without knowing what it's called until I got this comment from our very own @shadowspub...

Screenshot_20220914-213236.png

...in one of the lifestyle posts I made a month ago. I love the fancy name given to this sleeping pattern and I'm glad to share it with you all.

Fundamentally, taking a siesta during the day may prove to be more effective for some people, but when I tried, I spent a whole hour forcing myself to sleep. I still couldn't sleep. What a waste of time! It didn't work for me. The way I do it now is what works for me.


An important fact that I'd like to state is that the entire trajectory of how much I do when I'm awake has changed completely since I started working with this sleeping pattern. I still don't get some 8 or 10 hours of sleep per se, but the idea of taking a break to sleep for a few hours makes so much difference.

Give it a try and see if it works for you. It's a good way to give your brain a deserved rest.

Thanks For Not Missing Any Full-stop Or Comma.
Thumbnail Image made via an editable Canva template.
Second image from pexels
Third image from pixabay
Screenshot is mine.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @kenechukwu97 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

This sounds so lovely, and truly resting does help the mind and gets one refreshed with lots of energy oozing out. But it becomes hard when one has been working tirelessly each day. I love the name 'biphasic sleep cycle '. I don't snore too nor do I sleepwalk and I should probably give this a trial. Thanks for tagging me as promised. I did enjoy having this read.

Yeah. It's hard for people to give themselves these breaks.

Many people easily burnout when they work consistently in this manner and they drive themselves into the ground.... Just because they couldn't skip work to watch a soccer game or skip work to go for a date.

A great part of all these comes with people treating themselves badly.

To be fair, taking care of our mind is not all about sleeping, but we can do things that helps us free ourselves up mentally. Haha. Anything that works is really acceptable. !PIZZA

Yes, I do agree with you, Kenny. Thanks for the Pizza🤗🤗.

Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts about this. Hehe. Have a nice Thursday ahead ✌️

I should probably start doing this, I need to be active at some points in the nights again. It used to be a practice before, but someone I just have to be awake when there is power supply and I m yet to adapt to the cycle.

Yeah man. It helps a lot and I've been doing it since I discovered about it. It helps me massively in weekdays.

Having 2 jabs of sleep rather than one long shot could pay off better for the mind yeah..

But men lately I can't recall the last time I took even a siesta.

Hahah... It's understandable bro. The work you do is not easy.

Omo.. these days.. I even have more to do.. plus hive.

But I try to get good sleep tho .. thanks

Oh, thanks for the knowledge @kenechukwu97 , i never knew that kind of sleep pattern had a name either, i was also guilty of not getting the much needed sleep due to my workload and trying to meet up targets, but the moment I started taking a break in the evening, sometimes afternoon to sleep, i get refreshed and I sew and make patterns better now instead of trying to work with an already tired brain.

Ahaaa... That was exactly the experience I had with this. I was doing it without knowing that it has such a poetic name. Haha.

I'm glad it also works for you. !PIZZA

I totally agree with this,I feel sleeping twice would definitely help especially to those that do not get to have that right hours sleep at night.
And I think I just learned new thing
Biphasic
Nice post champ.

YEAH. Sleeping twice helps a lot and it doesn't have to be a really long sleeping duration.

Just a few hours sleep is enough each time if you decide to sleep twice

Loading...

Congratulations @kenechukwu97! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 6750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 7000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ - Participate in the Balls of Steel tournament and get a new badge
New badge - LEO Power Up Day - September 15, 2022

Thanks buzz.

You're welcome @kenechukwu97! Have a nice day 😊👍

You're welcome @kenechukwu97! Have a nice day 😊👍

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@kenechukwu97(1/5) tipped @glorydee (x1)
kenechukwu97 tipped balikis95 (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.