How I see [things]

in MED-HIVE2 years ago (edited)

IMG_20220901_195919_988~2.jpg


I was optimistic and eagerly looking forward to my eye test today. You see, I'm considered at high risk for Glaucoma, based on the fact that both my dad and my sister suffer from that eye disease. This makes me very likely to develop the disease as I grow older, therefore I have an obligatory eye test every one to two years.
Still, I had managed to convince myself that there was a miraculous transformation in my vision because my reading seemed easier, so I was a tad bit disappointed with my vision test, as I struggled to identify the second letter in the top line of the chart but relieved that I have no sign of glaucoma.

It was my first time at this particular Optician; The same company Specsavers that I use here in the UK, and for my vision test, I'd hope to hear something along the lines of:

"Wow! Your eyes are like that of a teenager. You could continue to wear glasses only if you wish to."

Well, that was "wishful thinking".



Glaucoma, which is a build-up of pressure in the eyes, is one of the most common eye diseases. The optometrist explained that people of my race are even more prone to developing glaucoma based on the pigment level in our iris. I have attached a link with a short video clip of the disease explained by an NHS doctor here.

My dad and his siblings inherited glaucoma from my granddad who went blind before he passed away, and my sister has been undergoing treatment for the disease for many years. My dad was first diagnosed with the disease over 40 years ago, and he has managed to maintain his vision and reduced the rapid deterioration rate expected from glaucoma, due to the continuous use of eye drops, and in more recent years, laser surgeries.
Regular tests need to be done so that treatment could be applied at the onset of the disease, for better results than if discovered in its later developed stage.



I was prescribed glasses and wore them occasionally in my twenties. However, as I got older and reached a certain age, I no longer had the luxury of choice regarding whether I wear glasses or not. Now, I do everything my doctor recommends and I have consistently been wearing reading glasses for the last seven years, and that is how I see. I can't read print or screen words without prescription glasses, and sometimes even with glasses, I struggle to recognize smaller fonts.


However, with continuous eye exercises in recent months as part of my face yoga routine, I now have more control over the movements of my ocular muscles. It's less painful when I rotate my eyes in their orbit, and I honestly thought my reading was better. (The Optometrist was happy to hear that and also recommended that I take some Omega 3 supplies, try to eat oily fish at least twice per week, and drink lots of water).
But alas, it's not the case!
My eyes deteriorate on each check-up, and I now have a collection of glasses - two for reading and two for seeing at a distance.
I tossed a few scratched lenses, and my current reading ones are obsolete, and I should receive my two new pairs next week. The good news is that apart from my reading, my regular vision has improved, and I don't need to change my distance glasses.

IMG_20220901_192343_905.jpg

I particularly like these distance glasses, because of the detachable dark polarised lenses that fit over the prescribed lenses.


Frames

Do you have a preference for frames? Plastic vs metal?

I have always preferred plastic frames over metal ones because they feel sturdy and can withstand the different elements and seasons better. Also, I find the nose pads on metal frames tend to leave an indent mark right on the bridge of the nose more than the plastic ones do.

IMG_20220901_191944_707.jpg


The metal green frame is my newest reading glasses, but the con of this kind of frame is that the flipping lens falls out easily, and I have to continuously ensure that the screw is tightened, which the receptionist offered to do for me.

What are my other options you might wonder?

Contact lens is not recommended as I have sensitive eyes that are prone to get infected easily.

Varifocal Lenses of course have been recommended by various optometrists, but unfortunately, they agreed that I might not be the best candidate since I do suffer from vertigo, and varifocal lenses do take some getting used to.

For now, I switch between reading and distance glasses.
It's annoying to switch, so for example I'm in a store, I need to walk around with my distance glasses, but I cannot read products with them, so I have to switch to my reading, the same for my mobile.

Eventually, I might have to have laser treatment, but I think doctors have decided that it's best to wait first, keep monitoring my eyes for glaucoma, and tossing investing money in glasses each time I visit.


Have you ever thought about losing one or more of your senses?

Well, it might not be a surprise that I have.

Six years ago at regular eye tests, the doctor suggested that I do a hearing test at the same time. I complied even though I never 'sensed a problem with my hearing' but I thought it wouldn't hurt. At the end of the test, the doctor was laughing because he realised that I was not aware that my hearing is not good in my right ear.

I haven't done another test, but now I do recognise the difficulty hearing from that ear. I call it one-dimensional hearing because I cannot hear more than one sound at a time. Some scenarios where I have difficulty hearing and following conversations are at noisy restaurants, or difficulty hearing someone speak if there's a running tap or other background noise.

Are these symptoms the opportunity cost of gaining wisdom?

Sort:  


~~~ embed:1565683022933987331 twitter metadata:WmVzdGltb255fHxodHRwczovL3R3aXR0ZXIuY29tL1plc3RpbW9ueS9zdGF0dXMvMTU2NTY4MzAyMjkzMzk4NzMzMXw= ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @zestimony ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

My eyesight is starting to get rekt as well, I partially blame Hive and partially my computer and just a little bit myself. ;p

Haven't gotten glasses/contacts yet but I wouldn't trust myself in driving right now.

 2 years ago  

I partially blame Hive and partially my computer

This is one of the pointers for this September prompt on health and lifestyle. We won't mind a post from you on how you re coping.

Getting an eye test is best advice tho, long hours on the screen is known to put the eye at risk.

I partially blame Hive and partially my computer

Haha! You gotta cast the blame 'somewhere' or on someone else 🤣

Doctors say the sooner you start correcting your eyes, the better... and others say the eye muscles get weak and dependent on the glasses. Hmm, I'm not sure.
But if driving is a challenge, then yes, probably get something:)

I wonder how there are people who have great eyesight despite having insane computer/screen times while others just develop issues without doing much .
There are special glasses one could wear when they sit a long time in front of the screen. You could try. Also take breaks and just rest the eyes by looking somewhere far away...to the sky or to the ceiling or to whatever. I can't imagine a life where eyesight would be an issue, it makes me appreciate my eyes even more

 last year  

You may wanna check out the community challenge for the week, and other weeks in December.

I'm glad to hear that you don't have glaucoma at this point. Hopefully it stays that way.

I didn't know that you could do exercises for your eyes but it makes sense I suppose.
That's great that it helps. A natural solution to health related issues is always ideal. Every little bit helps.

I'm glad to hear that you don't have glaucoma at this point. Hopefully, it stays that way.

🤞

Yeah! there are exercises that you can do if you don't mind looking a little weird 🤣
I am just gonna research some other exercises too:)))

Looking weird temporarily is probably worth it.

Hello @millycf1976,

Glaucoma is a disease that needs a lot of awareness campaigns both for families with genetic predisposition and the environment around them. There are conditions that trigger its development at early ages and these must be highlighted in order to delay its onset.

Undoubtedly, technological devices with their blue light make things worse, but we must also be very careful with blood pressure and glycemia levels, as these are factors that quickly lead to blindness in people with glaucoma.

Thank you for sharing your experience. Always stay active and healthy!

Hey there!
I agree about the blue light and artificial lighting in general. My eyes are sensitive to electrical lights in the daytime and I prefer to let natural light in.
My dad also believes that one's stress level plays a big part in the development of glaucoma, so he always reminds me to keep my stress levels down.
I spoke to my dad a few weeks ago, and he told me that 8 out of his 11 siblings are suffering from the disease. My dad is the eldest and was the first to be diagnosed after his dad, yet my dad's condition is way better than the rest. This is simply he has used the best of medication and educated himself about the disease.

Thanks for stopping by:)))

Yes, today's medicine has advanced a lot, but you should always be aware of those factors that can be harmful.

I wish you a nice day 🌻

Thanks, and same to you:))) 🌼

I'm glad you don't have signs of glaucoma, especially since you are genetically predisposed to it. There's a genetic condition in my family, too, that can cause loss of eyesight, but so far there are no markers of it in my eyes. However, my eyesight has still been deteriorating in the past ten years just due to aging. It's impossible to read very small print now, even with strong lenses. My solution is to use my cellphone's camera to zoom-in (under good lighting conditions), and then I can read it! That might be a trick to remember, should you ever need it. 🙂

Hello @thekittygirl
My apologies, I only just saw your message.
I'm sorry to hear about the condition in your family but happy that you have no traces of it 😇

That camera zoom-in trick is a good one that my best friend told me to try. It works like a charm :)
I do hope that your eyes will hold out, as I wish for myself too.
One thing I tend not to do is get stressed or worried about it though.

About a month ago, I had an awful experience where I went partially blind for approximately 30 mins. I kept calm, locked myself in the bathroom, and tried not to alert anyone to cause panic. It was a sad and lonely moment, knowing that if for any reason my sight didn't return, I would be left to live without it alone. It was an unpleasant and scary feeling.
I did some research and realized that it was triggered by migraines (an intense grabbing pain on the right side of my head, and my vertigo had kicked in, which I think was all connected).
The temporary blindness was just a one-off case, and I wouldn't like to experience it again.
I thank you for stopping by, I appreciate it, always:)))

You will most likely have better chances to fight the genetic issue by being so careful with your eyes and doing regular check-ups. It is not comforting to know you inherit something like this. But medicine evolves rapidly, who knows what miracle treatment might appear?
I have met someone with this eye issue and they were using special drops and it made their eyelashes super long. It was a funny joke she made, that at least she gets lashes as a bonus for the eye treatment lol.
You are a positive strong person and I think this also contributes to overall health, regardless of the genetic inheritance.

Hey there!😁

it made their eyelashes super long.

This "almost" makes me look forward to getting it...ALMOST!

Yes, I think doing everything the doctor says and not worrying about it is a great idea.
As you've said, medicine evolves rapidly, and my dad has seen improvements in the eye drops throughout the years.

Thanks for your vote of confidence, and good wishes!
I appreciate it:)))

I used to pick on my little sisters who wore glasses as children. I called them 4 eyes and Misses Magoo...

untitled.gif

Now that I wear them. It is not funny anymore.

Selfie Flag Shirt Trukker 2019-07-31.jpg

🤣 I used to do the same to ALL kids who wore glasses...that was one of the reasons why I refused to wear glasses in my twenties. Now my newest prescription is so strong, it's like the equivalent of 'six eyes' 🤣
I went for two clear frames this time.lol

Lookin' Great Girl.!!

My best to You and Cam both.

We Will 👀 look 👀 forward to the posting of you journey back home. 🏠🏡🏠

Thank you!
I've been looking forward to sharing so much about Jamaica for a long time. I'm excited to be heading home:)))
Hope you're well!

Normal eye pressure is 10-21 mmHg.
There was a time I went for a tonometry(a test to check eye pressure) and I had a value of 21 mmHg and I was so frightened. I caught myself thinking that I could wake up one morning and not be able to see and sometimes I would close my eyes, one at a time to be sure that I had not gone blind on one eye. It was really traumatizing and made me cry often. All the roller coaster of emotions for an eye pressure of 21. I cannot even imagine how you must have felt with a positive family history (though I think I have a bit of family history too) and having to use two different lenses.
I have been quite religious with the use of my drops and recently my pressure was alarmingly 13mmHg. I couldn't believe it. So I believe that the drops when used consistently as prescribed would go a long way to helping. This point was also made in the video link.
I have been more lightened by your piece @millycf1976..I hope your vision gets better though.

Hello There!
Your comment is also encouraging for me!
Yes, I prepare myself for the worst news whenever I do a test, and I'm always pleased with the results.
With continuous use, yes the drops work wonders. There are important points to remember to counter the side effects, such as drinking a lot of water for hydration. Otherwise one could develop things such as gallstone (my dad did)...

Did the doctors ever find out what causes you to have such a high pressure in your eyes?

Oh No! They've never exactly told me but I have long term myopia which was diagnosed after it had become really bad and from the clip you shared, myopia is a risk factor for an increased intraocular pressure. So I recon that may just be it.

Thank you for the hydration advise. I like to keep hydrated but I will become more intentional about it, perhaps keep a little diary for myself to help with consistency.
I'm sorry your dad came down with gall stones.

I'm happy my comment was helpful and happier that the results of your eye tests have been positive.

Keep taking care of those eyes. The world would be quite a dark place without them.

Hearty regards!

😍 Thank you:)

 2 years ago  

We should definitely devote a full month prompt to eye health and vision.

This is a beautiful post about glaucoma and really brings a lot of awareness.
I m glad you haven't developed it and you re making efforts at being proactive about it.

Welcome to Med-Hive.

Thanks for the welcome 😊
I only discovered this community last week, and I'll be sure to check it out from time to time.
A month's prompt on eye health and vision sounds like a great idea, and I think that would bring attention to your community.
I do like supporting smaller growing communities, and I hope that my post gave it some spotlight.

All good wishes to the team:)))

It sure did.

We appreciate the support and engagement your post brought to the community.

It's my pleasure 😊

 last year  

Oh .. we dropped a link earlier..

At least your vision is getting better.. But how do you do eye exercise? I guess I need it too..my vision is getting worst as years passed by.. I guess it's also because of too much exposure to screen when blogging... They are sensitive to light as well

And here's my preferred glasses with metal frames.

IMG_20211124_154714.jpg

Hey there!
There are many facial yoga exercises that help the eyes. I'm actually doing an online course, but there are various videos on YouTube that show different exercises. I have only been doing very basic exercises and have seen so much improvement, that I'm motivated to do some more advanced ones.
I'm actually watching some as I type because I need to increase my routine and frequency.

Thanks for sharing your picture frame.
I think that frame is similar to my distance glasses, which have a flip-on shade. I am ok with that type too, and I have no problem with the lens falling out.

Thanks for stopping by!
Have a lovely weekend:)))

Thanks too . I'll be searching for eye exercise later...really need some to enhance my vision. But are you putting eye fluid for clearing strains?

No, I don't put anything in my eyes at all.
Many years ago, I used to take drops for dry eyes. I haven't done anything in recent years though!
I'm prone to getting conjunctivitis, so I try not to touch my eyes. That's one of the reasons why doctors advice against contact lens.
I will consult the staff about the use of eye fluid when I go to collect my new glasses on Tuesday 👍

Meanwhile, those selling contact lenses are advising not to use glasses and just go for contact lenses 🤣...

Cool glasses Milly. Ive been wearing since 5th grade. Story is i was squinting/struggling to see board in class.

Ive had a lot of patients in sleep lab that have glaucoma, all seem to manage quite well when it gets to that stage. Prevention is possible i suppose, i didnt know there are face/eye exercises that can help. I will try to add it into routine, maybe can help me too. Timolol and latanaprost seem to be common drops people use to treat. Take care, see ya soon.

Ah, the exercises help with my reading vision and mobility of my eyes... not against glaucoma.
Yes, it's an eye disease that can be managed - expensive, I suppose. I think it might be a great idea for me to start looking into preventative measures... I was somewhat alarmed recently when I discovered that almost all my dad's siblings are now suffering from it.
I actually see an incoming call from my dad... he will be pleased to hear that my glaucoma test is negative, and also happy that I will continue to upgrade the strength of my glasses as suggested.
Thanks for stopping by, much appreciated :)))

Good stuff Milly, i hear ya. Yeah, i used to smoke a lot of green stuff, and it affected pressures in my eyes. Im familiar with the air puff test. Im due for a lil check up too, but ill see ya soon, rock on. Glad to hear your test was negative. Lets ward off all those negatives long as we can.

Good luck with your test... it's also great info that the green stuff affected you in that way. I thought it would have reduced the pressure.

It's funny how I have always longed to wear glasses since I was little. Not as a result of eye problems, I just loved the way people looked on glasses and I had the impression that people who wear glasses are extremely smart.

Now that I've grown and I'm more knowledgeable about the challenges people have, I don't have such wishes anymore.

I cannot imagine having to need glasses in order to be able to do anything.

Either ways if it happens I know I'll have to adjust and keep living. My mum is currently complaining that I spend too much time on screens but I keep explaining to her it's the only way I make money. I have tried to stick to a timing so I can reduce the number of hours I spend on screens and I'm hoping it helps. I wouldn't like to end up with any sort of eye problems nor lose any of my senses.

I hope your eye gets better with all the attention and treatment you're giving it.

Ah, it's funny that you feel that way about people who wear glasses 😅
You shouldn't wish it on yourself, because as you grow older the muscles deteriorate naturally, and you might find it compulsory to wear them.
Enjoy your youth:)))

True ma, I will. I have stopped wishing. Enjoy the rest of your day.

Are these symptoms the opportunity cost of gaining wisdom?

Ironically it is, because naturally, aging is believed to come with wisdom, and vice versa.

With that established, for most persons, their vision gets worse with aging and if nothing is done swiftly and decisively, it could lead to vision loss.

I've experienced vision problems since an early age and I'm trying all I can to be in control. Though, there are financial constraints as optical care is expensive in Africa, but I'm still doing all I can.

For most persons like us, eye care is an ongoing management, we don't take chances!

Nice write up!

Thanks for your kind feedback 😊

Though, there are financial constraints as optical care is expensive in Africa
Yes indeed!

Without health insurance, it's costly to keep changing glasses and keeping up with maintenance checks, but as I've now learned that apart the disease being hereditary, we are more prone to developing it, I will push along with the expenses too.

Thanks for stopping by:)

Welcome Milly

Varifocal glasses = progressive glasses, right? I have been wearing glasses for astigmatism and near sightedness since my early 20's. Just a few months ago, I had been prescribed progressive glasses for both reading and distance. It was like a declaration of my absolute old age from the optometrist. Lol. It definitely took some getting used to, but not as long as I expected it would. I think I was about ok on the 3rd day of constant use.

Yeah, I agree those lenses simplify things a lot. I'm glad you got the hang of it so soon. I definitely would have gone that route if I didn't suffer from vertigo.
Hmm, I just had a thought that maybe I could get one glasses with progressive lenses and wear them occasionally or when I'm seated and working on the computer for prolonged periods.

Thanks for stopping by:)

My eyes seem to be getting worse too. Not sure if it's due to age or having too much screen time for work and now peaked.

It could be both. It's good to take short breaks from the screen every 10 to 20 minutes if you can.
For many people, the muscles in their eyes become weaker after reaching 40 years old, and they experience many changes in their vision, especially when reading.
Look after them, and get an eye test if you can.
Thanks for stopping by:)

!lolz !pizza !alive

Why did the scarecrow win an Oscar ?
He was best in his field .

Credit: reddit
@millycf1976, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @bearmol

Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(1/1)

Thanks for the token:)

Hi @millycf1976,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Thank you very much for your support @teamuk:)

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you so much for your support and encouragement @ecency :)))

It is good that you are checking and managing things. It is good that you do not have glaucoma and that you are staying on top of things - doing facial and ocular exercises etc. As you mentioned, with technology there are many way to help glaucoma however one's general health is also important.

It is disconcerting to thing about losing one of my senses. I thought about it again during the last years with covid as some people lost their sense of taste.

Yes - as we get older and wiser other things might come - but hopefully we can find ways to deal with them in order ro continue to have a full life.
Thanks for sharing.

Hey there!
Yes, it's scary to think about.

with covid as some people lost their sense of taste.

My best friend lost her sense of smell after her recovery. I'm not sure if it's any better now.

I try to do every thing in my power though.

Thanks for stopping by:)))

Aww that is a shame about your friend - I hope she'll get back her sense of smell.

Yeah, I need to check up on her actually:)

 last year  

We had to come give another look at this beautiful post you wrote a while back and to invite you to join the community weekly challenge as we write about Vision and Eye Health all through this month.

If you can find the time for our prompt we would really love it. Thanks.

1_20221205_052818_0000.png