I Know Everything Attitude

in The CTP Swarm3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Having a teenage son is a blessing (and a curse... lol...) as in that age children are like an open book, like a perfect example of "overreacting", or doing things on limits... in both ways... We all have been in that age, and maybe we say that we weren't like that, but if we scratch a bit more under the surface, we will see that we were exactly like that...

And this "I know everything" attitude is extremely visible in teenagers... And that's why I was using them as an example... But, in a reality, that's not the biggest problem... Teenagers have grown up, and become adults... Most of them pass through that phase and don't act like that, but some of them are stuck...

I was talking about confidence in my previous vlog about doubts and may be exactly the "too much confidence" leads to this "I know everything" attitude... I think that @jongolson mentioned a couple of times that "If you're the smartest person in the room, you're in the wrong room.", which can be interpreted that we should try to surround ourselves with smarter people than us... But, also, it can mean that we have maybe a wrong perception of ourselves, and the other people in the room...

I have gone deeper on this topic in the video, so please check it out...


In the end, I would like to make an update of my current numbers (November 10th, 2020 - monthly target 95%) on #MyHiveGoals:

HIVE POWER - 19,036 / 20,000    95.18%
CTP POWER - 136,935 / 150,000   91.29%
HIVE Followers - 370 / 400      92.50%   --> GOAL REACHED (333)! Bumped to 400
LBRY Followers - 1113 / 1,500   74.20%

Numbers are going up, but we will see which one will reach that 100% until the end of the year... I can guess which one will not... lol... But, I will push hard until the end... and beyond... :)

Join us in this awesome #MyHiveGoals and let's grow together! You can find the original post about the challenge by @robwillmann here: https://peakd.com/myhivegoals/@robwillmann/new-challenge-myhivegoals-set-and-achieve-your-goals

Thank you for your time,

~ph~

I Know Everything Attitude.jpg


The link to my initial post is here

These are my initial (and starting) goals for 2020 on June 1st, 2020, and this #MyHiveGoals Challenge

HIVE POWER - 12,092 / 20,000    60.46%
CTP POWER - 98,148 / 150,000    65.43%
HIVE Followers - 222 / 333      66.67%
LBRY Followers - 648 / 1,500    43.20%

Music in video:
Growing Up by Scott Buckley https://soundcloud.com/scottbuckley
Creative Commons — Attribution 3.0 Unported — CC BY 3.0


zorro.gif

.:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:.

Don't forget to follow, reblog and browse my Hivepage to stay connected with all the great stuff!

You can find me on ClickTrackProfit .:. Twitter .:. LBRY

.:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:. .:.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Oh I know a few grown-ups with that attitude in my family ahaha
And on the blockchain, I bet there is a bunch of them. Always thinking they are always right and all! And sometimes those are the ones that don't know anything at all and they aren't willing to understand!
And time goes by and almost all the world is stuck with stubborn's and know-it-all's and doesn't grow...
It is ok to have confidence, that is good in fact...but being open-minded should also be ok!
Your opinions even if different from others are valid and should be appreciated!
Thanks for sharing!

 3 years ago  

You got some interesting points there... Generally, the ego is one that is closing doors to something new... As it drives people to think that they are superior than others, and because of that, they can't learn something new from them...

But, it's not everything in knowledge, there are a lot of things in attitude, being humble, respect others, etc...

Thanks for your comment and your time!

 3 years ago  

But I do know everything lol, jokes aside great subject Zoltan, and the comparison with teenagers is very valid, experience is what will teach us that there are more than one perspective on everything, hopefully.

And yeah answering comments that you get and in a meaningful way is the only way to get real engagement on your posts, and I think it is also better to really engage with a smaller amount of posts and videos each day rather than make lots of oneliners on all posts you can find, quality over quantity especially with limited time.

Keep up your awesome work.

 3 years ago  

I think it is also better to really engage with a smaller amount of posts and videos each day rather than make lots of oneliners on all posts you can find

You have nailed it with this! You will not get any connection with doing one-line comments... That is not engagement, that's just a bit more than laziness... Just a tiny level up... Yes, people will see you, but how will they percieve you? What image will you leave on others?

Thanks for the comment! Appreciate it! This could be a nice topic for a vlog... ;)

 3 years ago  

Yeah write it down, and I also only reward meaningful comments for IAAC with the ENGAGE tokens, nice incentive and it really works wonders, we are breaking all time highs all the time now, plus comments are meaningful and with great content too, I wish you an awesome weekend.

You make some very good points here Zoltan @ph1102 we have 2 teens in our house they always think they know better until they realise they don't LOL

We should always be open to learn new stuff and be humble enough to know we really don't know everything.

In fact i would say the older i get the less i realise i know LOL

Have the best day bro thanks for sharing

 3 years ago  

It's fun to live with a teenager(s)... I can barely survive with one in my home, so I congratulate you for pushing with 2! lol...

And I do agree with your final thought... As we are getting older, we realize that we know shit... lol... less and less... and it's not because of the Alzheimer.... :)

I can say without fear of contradiction that I "knew it all" when I was a teenager. My parents let me find out on my own that I was wrong. Yes, we have to empty our cup so that we can be ready to receive more knowledge. That is not me. I heard it from somewhere else. There is always sonething we can learn

Posted using Dapplr

 3 years ago  

We all were like that, Lisa... It's just like things are going on... The problem is when some people don't pass that period, and living in that way as an adults...

I would say that the teenage years serve exactly for that... That we learn from our own mistakes and stupidity how to act in the future... It sounds funny, but it is like that :)

I am just lucky that for my generation there was no social media so noone is ever going to see the stupid stuff I did as a teen. 😆
The military was a good place for me to do at least some growing up.



Made in Canva

@lisamgentile1961
___

I also tend to fall into this trap telling myself that I know everything about the subject as well. But then I realise that we need to keep an open mind to see other points and other opinions, otherwise we are just stuck in the same place. I think to remain openminded in this sense gets more difficult with age LOL

 3 years ago  

Reading your lines, I got on my mind one interesting saying about the cryptocurrencies from one of the blockchain conferences where I was...
"Bitcoin private keys are impossible to "de-crypt", or to hack.... YET..."

The same goes for knowledge... Maybe we think that we know it all, but it's always can be something more, or something new, that we didn't hear about...

That's a good analogy. We should always be interested in the "thing" that will decrypt the impossible :-)

 3 years ago  

Oh boy, how true this is on several levels lol....

I know I went through that teenage phase "I know everything" ... had the attitude down & I am sure it drove my parents bonkers. Fortunately, I grew out of that quickly & now I can't stand it when I see this in others....

You brought up an excellent point - we have our own perspectives on things, but we need to be open to others as well. There are going to be differing points of view, opinions & even pearls of wisdom from different sides. But if you don't keep your heart open & quiet down the ego mind, you will miss out on a lot of learning opportunities & even bonding with others....

For example, today on my weekly call with a close friend, we had differing views on a topic today. Our original opinions didn't change, but we each were open enough to talk about it & share our perspectives without making each other feel like shit (excuse), We actually learned something from each other & I really appreciate that. This is how we grow & evolve, but if we sit around thinking we are above others & berate them, that makes us no better than the narrow minded turtles you mentioned...

It is okay to be knowledgable and perhaps even be right, but there's no reason to tear someone down to make your opinion known. People will leave if that keeps happening. So, it's best to be open...

Thanks for another AWESOME video, Zoltan. You should do more night videos. It was cool hearing the sea waves and seeing a different environment :) 💚

 3 years ago  

For example, today on my weekly call with a close friend, we had differing views on a topic today.

It's amazing what an open-minded talk can do... Especially in different kinds of relationships, as it's not always black and white... But, when ego is up than everything breaks apart, no respect, and no appreciating of differences...

On the other side, when we are open to discussion, when we appreciate others, we can ALWAYS learn something new... Even if we are the smartest in the room, there is always something to learn...

Thank you for an awesome comment and for sharing your personal experience!

great points man

i think i am guilty of your last post. sometimes i do the ‘thanks for the comments’ comment.

i need to be better.

appreciate the kick in the butt.

Posted using Dapplr

 3 years ago  

hahahaha... I didn't have you in mind when I was doing this post, but it is always like that... When you see others talking about something, you find yourself called out... And, that's a good thing... You have self-criticism (if that is a word), and it's a good step forward...

How many times I heard a priest talking about something, and it was always about ME :) :)

Thanks for your comment! Nice to see you in the comment section...

it’s part of my hive journey i need to improve upon. big time.

Posted using Dapplr

Congratulations @ph1102! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 29000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP