An Explore Around the Old Nissen Huts

in Photography3 years ago

​I visited Bakewell which isn't far from me.
I never realised until now the town had Nissen huts there. They were invented during the First World War and mainly used as barracks, storage and even prisoner of war camps in the second world war.

I think they are used as workshops now. Rumour has it, they are to be demolished. That would be a real shame.

The huts are made out of prefabricated steel and designed by American born, Canadian-British engineer and inventor Major Peter Norman Nissen.

At the moment they are getting rid of the corregated iron but keeping the concrete floor. Still feel as though it's a big mistake.

I don't just like the beauty of the countryside, I really like the industrial look, so I really enjoyed walking around here.

Photos by @ellenripley - Julie S. All rights reserved.