Street Photography During Ice Hockey World Championship in Finland

in Photography2 years ago (edited)

DSC07769.JPG

I love it when people look straight at me when I'm photographing them. Or to my camera which usually is the same thing.

DSC07713.JPG

With sunglasses you can't always be sure where the person is looking at, but if you're the only person in the bridge in 10 to 30 meter radius and there's nothing happening behind you or anywhere near because everyone's inside the arena or in front of a screen at home or in a pub watching the game and the person you're photographing doesn't look at where they are going, you can be pretty sure that they are looking at you.

DSC07721.JPG

I absolutely love it how I can make stories of the people because of their facial expressions or posture. This one is easy. This was the day when Latvians didn't do so well against Sweden. Or Finland. Not sure which day this was but nevertheless not good results for the Latvian team.

DSC07759.JPG

Anyway, as I wrote, you can't always be sure if the people who seem to look straight at you, are actually looking at you. Especially if they're eyes are behind sunglasses of the sun is behind me and they probably only see a silhouette in the bright light. But it's not important what is actually happening, being stared at or not, it's enough if it looks like they are aware that I'm photographing.

DSC07763.JPG

Again the same thing.
Nice pom poms!

DSC07785.JPG

I think he's coming for me.

Such determination.

DSC07835.JPG

Now this one! The tall hat! Definitely staring right at me.

DSC07855.JPG

And perhaps he too. At least I like to think so.

DSC07854.JPG

Now this is pure magic. What wonderful eyes and nice smile she has.

DSC07857.JPG

The lady in the bench. Is she looking at me?

DSC07876.JPG

The singer certainly did stare at me at some point, not sure if this is that exact moment but pretty close.

She sang:
"In your head, in your head
Zombie, zombie, zombie-ie-ie
What's in your head, in your head
Zombie, zombie, zombie-ie-ie, oh oh oh oh oh oh oh ie-ie oh..."

DSC07882.JPG

Is slightly younger Leonardo DiCaprio behind the sunglasses looking at me?

DSC07913.JPG

Well he's not. But so close that I had to add this photo too.

DSC07922.JPG

Nice catch wouldn't you say?

DSC07962.JPG

Now this photo. As if the dude behind the thin tree trunk isn't creepy enough because I actually have several other photos where he is the only one staring at me and not moving at all, there's at least two other people checking me out and perhaps also the pall of the creepy tree trunk dude on his right, our left side.

This gives really strong pod people vibes. And if it's not Invasion of the Body Snatchers, the some other reality where aliens are just about to start pointing at me and screaming.

I don't know what happened to the staring aliens though.

I avoided that by leaving and making weird moves when walking away that obviously distracted them enough so that they couldn't make me join their cult.

DSC07971.JPG

Same crowd, one person not looking at the screen.

Help!

He knows that I'm not that into ice hockey and he's about to tell that to his palls.

DSC07980.JPG

I don't want to be converted into hockeyism!

ih-games.jpg
https://www.iihf.com/en/events/2022/wm/schedule

Then again perhaps I never got away and the ice hockey chip in my brain is slowly starting to work because I have been following the game results and if I'm walking out there and trying to pass a screen I always have to stop for a moment and actually watch the game.

I blame the Finnish team.

They've been too good.

And the Finns in Tampere streets are quite loud too.

But I don't blame them because Finns really have wiped the floor (ice) with other teams pretty nicely.

Before you know it, I'll be drinking beer with two hands in some pub, watching the games and taking of my blue and white clothes and running naked around the streets shouting HYVÄ SUOMI!
And singing:
"Den glider in
Den glider in
Den glider in
I mål igen
Vi ska kämpa
Vi ska ge
Alt det vi har
Vi ska ta
Gul igen"

There is of course one team Finns should a little bit scared of. Canada. But then again if we loose to Canada, we will definitely take comfort of the fact that we already are better than Sweden. And that we took the Olympic gold from Russia in Beijing.

Sort:  

I think the guy in the hat and shades in the park is definitely looking at you. Or possibly, they are all looking at your camera. Hey, @insaneworks, I'm back! So glad to see you're still here (even though it's a bit of a different place, I think you know what I mean!). I think there's' no escape for you from being "converted to hockeyism". Lol!

Welcome back @juliamulcahy! Great to see you here! Hive certainly is different than Steem was and I think it's better, perhaps because it seems to be evolved and there's so much going on in Hive that it's really hard to keep up with everything it has to offer. But then again one can do like I do, just continue your own stuff and get to know the cool new stuff tomorrow. And tomorrow it's tomorrow...

I have one year to recover from this hockey culture brought to my hoods and perhaps develop some sort of a force field because Finland and Tampere is hosting the games together with Riga in Latvia, next year, again. Horrible! :D

My thoughts exactly. They are all looking at me. 0_o

Great to see you too, @insaneworks! Glad you're still doing YOU. It will be fun exploring Hive and getting to know my way around.

They are definitely all looking at you 😂🤣😂

I don't want to be converted into hockeyism!

Lol.

Join us... Join us! JOIN US!!!

I'd be happy to!

I'll reflect all the converting rays your way and next year, as this thing again is here in Tampere (joint hosting with Riga) you will have to come here too. :)

You know I would if I could right? Maybe next year would work too, let's see how it goes.

I know you would. And that would be awesome if you could come to Tampere. :)

It would b epic. I'm not sure Finland would ever be the same. 😋

The best time of the year because of the ice hockey! I spot many Latvian fans, happy with the presence. It is a shame we did not pull our weight, yet again... But all the best to Finland and Canada, cheering for the two next!

There were so many Latvian fans here. And they really loved to cheer for Latvija everywhere. :) But hey, just heard few hours ago, next year hosts are Riga and Tampere!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people(@insaneworks) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 107 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!PIZZA
8

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@pixresteemer(1/5) tipped @insaneworks (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Congratulations @insaneworks! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 60000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 65000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
Don-1UP-Cheers-Cartel-250px.png

You have received a 1UP from @luizeba!

The following @oneup-cartel family members will soon upvote your post:
@sports-curator, @neoxag-curator, @pal-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the family on Discord.