Sleepy Hallow vibes w/ Kelly Desireé!

in Photography3 years ago (edited)

Hey, Hive. I’m grinding my teeth as I’m watching a crowd of 1,000 protesters face off against Brooklyn Center police, just outside of Minneapolis. A young man named Daunte Wright was shot and killed during a traffic stop. We’re in the throes of the Derek Chavin trial after he killed George Floyd last summer. Hive isn’t the place to get in to the politics, but I will tell you as a Minneapolis resident, this shit is traumatic. I’m once again watching my community terrorized live on Unicorn Riot.

I’m splitting my attention as I just finished some new photography. Trying to still turn this in to a productive night. A few weeks ago I got an opportunity to really put the Nikon Z6II through its paces during another day of dark pinup sessions at Lovely Organic Apothecary in South Minneapolis. All of the shoots were fun but this final shoot with Kelly Desireé was really special. Hair, make-up and wardrobe was world glass thanks to Farah, the salon owner.

We intentionally waited until the sun went down to start shooting. There was a cool Sleepy Hallow vibe as Kelly was dressed in a black lace overcoat and lifted a decorative black lace umbrella over her shoulder. We lit candles which remarkably cooperated even in the wind. Afterwards, we moved inside to a small set art that Farah had put together. These kinds of shoots are still what I feel I was born to capture. Every detail was hidden in shadows.

kelly005.jpg

For now, this will be the last set of photos with Kelly Desireé. I have more from this weekend of sessions with the other clients. Those will come in the next week or two. I have some illustration I’m going to try and push through before going to bed. This is going to be a ridiculously busy, stressful week […and that was before the events I’ve been watching tonight]. Thanks for reading and following me here on Hive. I’ll be back tomorrow with some new work.

Sort:  

She's so expressive! I can easily see her part of a game or movie :)

Best of luck with that. It seems like it just never ends sometimes. My wife and I have been following the trial closely. Then this happens. There clearly seems to be a certain kind of culture in the department as a whole. The pictures look fantastic.

It's a cool shoot!
Hopefully they will stop burning the city down... it won't help.

Some will do that I'm sure, unfortunately, but I'd say the same about killing people for traffic stops. I imagine you're feeling some relief not having to camp out all night to protect the gas station.

I am reminded of why I left Minneapolis.

Those are pretty fantastic shots. A great set up all around. I absolutely love the gothic feel to it all.

Stay safe my friend💜