You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Macro-photography of Servaea sp. Jumping Spider

Gosh this is an interesting hobby. I can't say that I'm a fan of arachnids but you have a way of making these little critters look cute under the macro gaze of your lense lol. Do you always bring in your babies from the garden to raise indoors or are some of them acquired more exotically though petstores or the like? I do like that you release them back to the wild if they are not taking well to a more captive and controlled environment.

Sort:  

Thanks.
They are all from my garden. Some specimen don’t really like being in captivity, they’d stay hidden in their hammock and won’t come out. I only keep those that adapt fast.

Do the ones you keep ever have babies? How do you handle that eek? seriously could not imagine hundreds of baby spiders all looking to escape into my house every time I opened the lid. I think this post is gonna give me nightmares tonight lol 😂😱

One of them made eggs but all infertile. I don’t mind them escaping into the house. They’d help with pest control lol.

hahaha nope! 😂😱