My First Week of Night Sky Photographs

in Photography3 years ago

PXL_20210121_122234908.NIGHT_edited.jpeg

I know it's not much, but I've now got one week under my belt of shooting the stars with my Pixel 5. With a new tripod in check, I actually had three nights this past week to shoot the night sky with the astrophotography features on my phone. I know it's not deep space, but it's a start, I'm hoping to document this adventure as I move on.

PXL_20210121_121805250.NIGHT_edited.jpeg

This was taken from my backyard, and with the help of Snapseed, I managed to reduce a lot of light pollution from the photo (I live in an area of about 120,000 people and lights)

PXL_20210120_031811244.NIGHT_edited.jpeg

This one was shooting towards Orion's belt...I didn't see most of these stars while shooting.

PXL_20210121_122139370.NIGHT_edited.jpeg

I took this one this morning of the Southeast sky about 10 minutes prior to sunrise (I need to plan a bit better going forward).

PXL_20210121_024552499.NIGHT_edited 1.jpeg

And last but not least a photo that picked up some light clouds in the sky.

PXL_20210121_123241449_edited.jpeg

More to come (and hopefully improvement). Thanks for checking it out, and if you have any tips with shooting with a Pixel or using Snapseed, please let me know. Better yet, if you have any photos to share, please do! It would almost be fun to get an astrophotography community going on here, you know? Maybe someday..

Sort:  

Nice Shot, beautiful Photography 👍

Thank you...I know it's not much, but it's a start to a hobby I am really excited to get involved with going forward - thanks!

Congratulations @sagesigma! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2250 replies. Your next target is to reach 2500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Sometimes the unplanned shots turn out to be the best! I love the one you took 10 minutes before sunrise!