Sort:  

I used the cases and superglued them in place.

I never thought of that 🙌 I guess any clear plastic would work :)

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

Yes. The bonus with CD cases is that they already have hinges so the enclosure doors is built-in 😅

I guess you could make a full wall sized habitat if you wanted. It would be a beautiful display, and an ecosystem eventually :)

I initially intended to build a large vivarium with living plants and worms etc… but I’m not sure I have the time for maintenance. Additionally I read somewhere that it makes it more difficult to feed the jumping spiders as in large areas the prey have more places to hide and it might also be more difficult to find your own spider for observation later on.

I guess it depends on the purpose, if you want an enclosure to observe jumping spiders or you want a vivarium where you want to have a natural ecosystem with a jumping spider as part of it.

True! I think the wild spiders taken from the garden would be able to find prey, but it would definitely be harder to observe them unless you used materials that contrast to their color. And that may affect hunting...

In the wild there are more prey in number, so they have more opportunities for food. Even in my small enclosure with a dead branch as fake tree with fake leaves. Sometimes I would spot a small cockroach or crickets I added weeks ago for food but they managed to hide away from the spiders.