Do you know your vitamin C intake?

in dPoll4 years ago

Do you know your vitamin C intake?


The food industry and food gurus tell us year after year what is healthy and what is not.
We buy it and follow the food pyramid which didn't always give the best advice.

We are fed with trans fat and mow it is fought because it is a danger to your health. We are fed with palm fat and now it turns out it is even more dangerous than trans fat.

As a child we got a spoon cod liver pill during winters. Later it was a pill Davitamon10 and a pill vitamin C (brand Roter).

I noticed as years go by the number of milligrams of a vitamin or mineral is increasing fast.

I was on the search for food that contains vitamin C. I had a look in my cupboard and found some juice, beets, red cabbage, pineapple, and peaches.
I wrote an article about it which you can read here if you like.

If it comes to vitamin C it all depends on your personal needs how much milligrams you need to take a day to have sufficient.
Vitamin C can not be stored by the body which means you better consume it throughout the day.

Needed is about 75-1000 milligrams if I may believe the different stories.
Just to give you an idea 85 mg is good for 9 apples a day!
There's no way I can consume - not to forget to mention the costs - such a high amount of food daily (besides of vitamin C there are more vitamins and minerals to consume)

Do you know your vitamin C intake?
Vitamin C is needed to keep you fit but also to make it possible to take in/digest other vitamins/minerals/nutrition (easier).

CCC = #hive-166850

This is an Invitation to join #ccc. The community CCC supports members by encouraging and upvoting each other and by hosting contests. Contests are hosted by @team-ccc and it's members. See @team-ccc for contests running.


  • Yes

  • No

  • Other

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for

  • No

But I think I'm taking more in than necessary. Especially since it is used in many foods as preservative

Voted for

  • No

Voted for

  • No

Voted for

  • No

Voted for

  • Yes

Voted for

  • No

Thank you for voting. I wish you a great day.

Voted for

  • No

Voted for

  • No

Voted for

  • Yes

Actually something I am dependent on... and I can balance between my sleep level.

It balances your sleep level? Any idea how much vitamine C you need?

In my case it need it regularly, otherwise, I have other problems like a canker sore on my mouth. The amount of it depends on your absorption rate... meaning depends on how much you will "use" from the amount you take.

But generally speaking, because the body does not retain much of it, its best to take very small portions during the day than a big dose every day.

I know it's better to take small rages even if it comes to tablets. The question still remains how to figure out what is needed.

For a longer time I didn't feel the need to drink orange juice but I started with it again and it does make me feel better but I doubt it's enough. I have some cherries now (tree) and if I start eating I cannot stop. I think.it means I have a lack of it.

Thank you for explaining.

I think that after a certain quantity it just goes out with your urine or faeces (that's why if you overdose it, you can get diarrhoea, but that's like extreme quantities... and usually depends from people to people and regular overdose intakes)... a rule of thumb is 500mg per day... over that in most cases is over what you can absorb... but it varies. I might sometimes be ok with as little as 100mg per day... or even less. Depends if you take any iron, get sick, or do lots of exercises... its also associated with other vitamins deficiencies... I wish there was a fricking app/watch to tell us our "usages" in these kinds of things and then gives a recommended value based on our vitals...

I would buy that watch!!!

Voted for

  • No

Voted for

  • No

Thank you for voting. I wish you a great day.

Voted for

  • No

Voted for

  • No

Voted for

  • No

While I try consume enough Vitamin C from food (and sometimes from supplements), I just don't keep track of how much I do take.