Disappearing Things, Italy 2008, Resisting the Great Depression

in Analog (FILM) Photog2 years ago (edited)

Italia002.jpg

Lucky me, I have one of the best places to immerse myself fully into the creation of things of a lovely nature: My darkroom.

Still, not being allowed to travel freely really gets to me. There are so many places that I know, that I've been going to again and again, watching the changes in structure and landscape, but now I can't go there.
It's a really bad time, and I am living it in one of the most totalitarian corners of the world. There's a lot to complain about, and some things to fight for.

One of these battles is the one for my good mood. This is where I draw the line and make a stand. Instead of the general depression, the agression and hate, I navigate paths that make me happier. Be it a beautiful view through my camera, be it imagining starting life anew, somewhere else. With a castle. And a darkroom.


Shot on Kodak 160 NC using a Tachihara 8x10 camera and
a Fujinon 300 mm lens. Scanned from c-print.

Sort:  

such a wonderful image was taken on the Large format and the words you said here.
the traveling is "free" now but with all this shit of the green pass and the tests in every place - and this is very bothering me, so i don't mind to travel right now.

nowadays free = a privilige. The new free....

I did some travels in the last months, without tests/pass, and enjoyed travelling illegally ;) And it was possible. And a bit tough. And I did meet amazing people, outside of Austria...

These days we rather try to judge how long the borders will be 'open enough to run away'. And where to...

How about becoming digital nomads? I wrote 2 posts about this topic a few days ago (in German).

;)

14meterssm.jpg

Very fine, that's a lot of space! In never saw such combination! But I think it's impractical in cities and on mountain roads.

Used to be my home, now it's my getaway car.
It's not built for off road, but I did cross some tough mountains with it. With only minor damage...

yeah. to run away is to somewhere. who said that this "somewhere" is more liberal and democratic :-)

We are looking at different options/countries. And for sure, we do not want to move again after 3 years....
Albania looks promising.

We decided not to sell our place here, but be ready...

it's crazy bro....
Greece was in my list but seems like they are doing the same things after the other big forcing countries, not something different. I heard that Serbia is also very nice and still free of the shit place but I'm not sure anymore

Everyday life in Serbia also seems to be quite ok. A friend of mine stayed there in summer.
The former Block-countries (Balkan, Romania, Hungary....) have one advantage: They have a deep distrust towards politicians...

Here is a blog I like:
https://peakd.com/@globallocal

He is researching places to stay...

"distrust towards politicians" is the way.
just curious how many countries follow this freedom rule?
thank you for the recommendation

I'm in Albania since May, 7 months. It's the freest and most liberal country in Europe in the moment I think. It has mediterranean climate and is about ⅔ cheaper than Austria and Germany.

No masks, no lockdown, no distance rules, no curfew, the only thing is that the gastronomy must close at 11 pm. In the web you most time only can read the official rules, but nearly nobody cares about them.

Poison injection quota (full): 34,2 %
7 day incidence: 77,4

Danke @mundharmonika !

I will put all effort into going to Albania next year. Let's see if I will come back at all.

Bitteschön, vielleicht sieht man sich dann hier!

That image just so wonderfully personifies your feelings and words.

I'm personally lucky enough to not be 'locked down', and for that I'm incredibly grateful. My boys had to spend 1 1/2 years at home from school and it was devastating to them. I get them out every opportunity I have.

It seems like any place is better than Austria. Again...